Skip to content

Welcome to My World

by on January 2, 2011

As I begin this first blog entry of the new year, it occurs to me that I’m using rather a lot of W’s. Writer, with, welcome, world…I wonder why that is? W isn’t necessarily my favorite letter (that would be Q or Z). Maybe the universe is trying to tell me something. As in, I ought to move to Wisconsin. Or I ought to reread the Wally McDoogle Series. Who knows?

At any rate, this blog isn’t really about the letter W. Mainly, it’s about two things. The first is purely and unapologetically commercial: I am trying to promote the novel which I have just self-published through CreateSpace, and which you can buy (if you like) here. It’s called Hailfire, and it’s essentially a retelling of the Biblical story of Samson as a modern-day superhero adventure. Samson lifts city gates; Haley Mackintosh explodes tanks with heat rays. It’s quite fun, and dramatic, if you don’t mind my saying so. Hailfire does have a sequel, and a sequel of a sequel, but those won’t be out yet for some time, as I am still editing them. Hailfire, on the other hand, has been edited and reedited to distraction. Feel free to leave a comment and tell me what you think about it, should you choose to read it, and I do hope you do. 😛

Secondly, I’ll be using this blog to host my other writings besides Hailfire: musings on literature I’m reading, reviews of movies I’ve seen recently, and the occasional short story. That’s it, incidentally; I don’t plan to blog about anything else. Especially not politics. The last thing I want to do is alienate potential readers. I don’t care if you voted for General Zod; I would still appreciate your input on my stuff.

Well, that’s all for today. Stay tuned for more posts soon as I expound on why movies shouldn’t be made from certain books (I’m looking at you, Dawn Treader), and an impending combat between Lady Wagnerian and the Sporkster. (dun dun DUNNNNN….).

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. I voted for Zaphod Beeblebrox… But I did think I was voting for the worst-dressed presidential candidate, like so many other poor suckers… ;-P

    • I wish I had thought of voting for Zaphod Beeblebrox….best President the galaxy ever had. 😀

      • Definitely. And at least reliably funny. If unpredictable in emergencies. Prone to, er, losing his head….

  2. On the bright side, to quote his own phrase, he’s so hip he has trouble seeing over his own pelvis.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

