Skip to content

A Word of Explanation

by on January 29, 2011

You may have noticed, faithful reader, that the title of this blog is “Writer With a Slinky”. The writer part is rather self-explanatory, but then you may be wondering about the “Slinky” aspect of it. In the 14 or so posts I’ve written since I started, I don’t believe any of them have mentioned Slinkies. It’s not a weapon used by Gaseous Girl or the Sporkster, and in Princess Caitlin’s era they wouldn’t have even been invented yet. No, the Slinky is more of a personal thing for me.

I don’t remember exactly when I started carrying one around; all I know was that it was way back in the halcyon days of my youth. Somehow I got into the habit of having a Slinky close to hand as I worked on homework or read books or something; a Slinky is remarkably useful to play with while one is brainstorming. Usually kids put aside their toys as they grow older, switching maybe to a lucky hat or a favorite tie with a polar bear on it or a particularly sentimental urn that they found on an archeological dig in the Himalayas. I, however, have not. To this day, wherever I go, I still carry a Slinky around with me. A plastic one, usually, as I find them more flexible than the metal. I recognize protocol, of course; if I were meeting, say, the Prince of Liechtenstein, I would stow the Slinky safely and politely in my pocket. Otherwise, I’ll be casually tossing it about during conversations and so forth.

Most of my friends hardly notice it anymore  as they’ve gotten used to seeing me with it; still, though, I’ll occasionally get someone who asks why I always carry a Slinky with me. I still haven’t been able to come up with a completely coherent answer. It’s part lucky charm, part brainstorming tool, part sheer habit. I think, too, that there’s an element of symbolism in it; the Slinky is a splash of color and fun in what is admittedly a very dreary world.  It’s like on M*A*S*H when Hawkeye wears a Hawaiian shirt instead of the green Army uniforms that everyone else is wearing. The Slinky is my Hawaiian shirt, my dash of random humor in a world that all too often just isn’t that funny, the disco ball in the dark midnight of my soul, pick your cliche. Anyway, that’s a short explanation for why I named this blog the way I day. Stay tuned for the further adventures of Gaseous Girl, Princess Caitlin, and more, including the fairly soon debut of Corporal Thunder, heroic defender of the tiny suburban town of Mole Dropping.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

