Skip to content

Writing Progress Report 3

by on May 10, 2011

And now it’s time for Writing Progress Reports with Michael, the part of the blog where Michael comes out and delivers a Writing Progress Report. So…what have I been writing lately?

First off, I apologize to my tens of readers for my somewhat spotty posting lately; I intend to get into a more regular pattern. I’ve been a bit tied up with personal, non-writing things, trifles really, like straightening out my sock drawer, working out which Netflix DVD I’m going to get next, graduating from college….:P

Yes; as of yesterday afternoon, I am now, officially, a Lefty-Tassel person. There’s so much I could say about my college experience, the things I’ve learned, friendships I’ve formed, and so forth. But just to focus on one way college has been one of the most wonderful parts of my life, I think I can honestly say that it’s changed my writing dramatically (which is ironic because I didn’t actually major in writing or literature, but in the more prosaic fields of political science and international studies). Before my first semester in 2006, I’d mucked about a bit with writing; I’d written a couple novellas but they were, in my humble opinion, not terribly good. I mostly wrote medieval-type action stories, and not wacky like the Caitlin Chronicles but straight-up swords and castles. Then, in one of my college’s computer labs, I experimented with a slightly wacky short story about a superhero called the Emotional Ninja. The rest, as they say, is history. I found out about NaNoWriMo at college, I wrote my NaNo novels for ’09 and ’10 there, I wrote my Christmas-fantasy novel there. It’s been fun, and glorious, and I shall miss it dearly. But onward, ever onward; I’ll be going to law school in the fall, which I’m sure will bring many fascinating writing opportunities, both intellectual and creative. 🙂

Meantime, I intend to keep up a regular posting schedule over the summer. I’ve got all sorts of ideas for future posts: further episodes in the Caitlin Chronicles, and of course other short stories in the Chrysalis Experiment; I really really want to do more in the universe of “Mom Power“. That story, by the way, had a multitude of inspirations: I watched a comedic video recently wherein the comedian joked about kids constantly asking why, then I wrote a scene in my current novel project where a superheroine is having troubles with her kid (heat-vision eyes, leading to dialogue like “No, it is NOT okay to set Mommy on fire”), and I wanted to explore that idea further, and thus “Mom Power” was born.  I was probably influenced in a subconscious way by Elastigirl from The Incredibles. Great movie, that. One little difficulty came up, though, while writing “Mom Power”; in the world of the story, the characters developed a shorthand lingo of sorts to describe their powers. They used ‘port as the verb form of teleportation, ‘path for telepathy, etc. I never did work out what the verb would be for telekinesis, though. ‘Kine didn’t sound quite right to me…which was why Audrey just levitated the tissue instead of ‘kining it. Perhaps I should use ‘kine anyway to be consistent? Thoughts?

Moving on, I’ll need to make a decision soon as to which novel project I want to edit. On the one hand, there’s the aforementioned Christmas-fantasy novel, all 100,000 words of it. On the other hand, I still need to edit the sequels to Hailfire. (and you thought I was going to leave out the Obligatory Shameless Plug, didn’t you? Hey, if Felicia Day can “shill for the Guild on somebody else’s time”, to quote her “Art” song from Commentary! the Musical, I can plug Hailfire. :p ) Speaking of, I think I will stay in that universe when it comes time for NaNoWriMo 2011. The difference being, Hailfire is sort of a post-post-apocalyptic thing in which I adapted a Biblical plot (Samson and Delilah). I’m thinking that my NaNo 2011 will be more apocalyptic. I started wondering back in 2010 what guardian angels and such would do in apocalypse situations, which is partly where the story “Death Angel” came from.

Well, that’s all for today, I suppose. Till next time!

From → Writing Process

4 Comments
  1. Keep up the good work, man! Don’t worry about WHEN you post as much as WHAT you post!

  2. Hmm, maybe the shorthand for telekinesis could just be ‘tk’ or something 🙂 or ‘teek’ hehe.

    Congrats on graduating!! That must be a great feeling, though obviously a mixed one too. I know how that is, it’s sort of bittersweet! I was so relieved when I finished my 4th year of study (honours year), but in hindsight I really miss those years. 😉 I did all sorts of cool subjects like medieval history, etc.

    • ‘teek…I like it!
      I definitely get the bittersweet part; it was quite sweet while I was getting the diploma cover and all, but then afterwards once the ceremony had finished and the people had all gone, and I was wandering sadly about the campus…ah, c’est la vie. (cue French accordion). 😛

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

