Skip to content

Changes

by on August 28, 2011

You know, kids, a lot has changed since your old Uncle Joker’s been away. New Gotham, new rules… even a new Batman. But now I’m tanned, I’m rested and I’m ready to give this old town a wedgie again!“-The Joker, Batman Beyond: ROTJ.

You might have noticed that this blog’s undergone one or two little tweaks. Well, I have a reason for it; it’s not a terribly good reason, but it’s a reason, to paraphrase Danny Kaye from “White Christmas.” My life has changed rather substantially in the past month; no, I haven’t got married or joined the Marines or stepped through a wardrobe into a land where it’s always winter and never Christmas (but boy, I wish that last one were true). No, what’s happened is, as I might’ve mentioned in an earlier post, I’ve started law school. And I did not quite realize until these past two weeks just how intense of an experience that is. I knew it theoretically, sure, heard the horror stories, all the stats about how law school will suck your soul and consume your life and leave you with a nervous breakdown. But that was theoretical. Now I’ve had a bit of experience. And yes, it’s definitely stressful. Oh boy is it stressful. Six classes, Monday through Friday, tons of reading, the possibility that one might be randomly called upon to explain the complexities of the diversity of citizenship requirement for subject matter jurisdiction, the rising panic when one realizes that one has misplaced one’s planner….and yet, I do love it so. The nuance, the subtle gradations between words, the fascinating stories, the debates…it’s heaven, it’s hell, it’s fun.

Anywho, the point being, in consequence of my life changing, I figured it was appropriate for the blog to change as well. So here it is. I do hope it meets your approval, faithful tens of readers. Incidentally, yes, I changed the name of the main character in my ongoing series of short stories, but honestly, I like the name Catrina better anyway. I’ve always liked that name, or variations thereof; I think it was all those Adventures in Odyssey episodes I listened to as a kid. At any rate, that’s her name now, and one never goes back on a retcon. πŸ˜› So, stay tuned for more of Princess Catrina, Captain Happily Married, the Sporkster, and updates about my novel projects, as my adventure as a 1L continues. Woo hoo, extra hoo. (To quote Shego from Kim Possible. I like quoting people; have you noticed?)

 

From → Uncategorized

7 Comments
  1. Who wouldn’t want to go to Narnia? I’d plant a Butterfinger so I could have my own Butterfinger orchard. Not at all the point of your blog post, I realize, but someone in the wide world should know. Fate picked you.

    Glad to find you’re enjoying law school! Do you know into what branch you might want to practice?

    Catrina works! Author’s perogative, right?

  2. if planting candy got you candy trees, I’d be planting Now-and-Laters like nobody’s business. πŸ˜›
    I’m not certain yet; I like Constitutional law, so I might go that route. I know more of what I don’t want to do, like family court and such. Too stressful.

  3. I like the new look counselor (I know you aren’t yet but sooner or later) I had to do some changing on my bloggage too! I am much thrilled for you and your excitement. Lots of luck to you πŸ™‚

    • Thanks! Glad you like the new look; I wasn’t sure which theme to go with, but then I saw that it was called “Titan”. Because when there’s trouble you know who to call….Teen Titans! πŸ˜›

  4. Wow, it’s going to take some serious getting used to… Catrina. But I guess it’s pretty princessly, so I can approve of it! hehe

    I was scared you were gonna say you were giving up writing or something. Thankfully that wasn’t the case! πŸ˜›

    • Yep. Catrina’s going to need serious therapy when her story arc’s over. πŸ˜›
      And I have no intentions of giving up writing, ever. It’s too fun.

  5. Change is good, especially when it comes to blogs. Keep up the ever-evolving, good work!

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

