Skip to content

Writings and NaNo and Links, Oh My

by on October 15, 2011

It occurred to me that I haven’t talked about my actual writing or anything in a while, so…what have I been writing lately, besides short stories about space hamsters and the wonderful pop-culture references of law school?

Well. I have, actually, been working on a novel over the past couple months. For a while, after I started law school back in August, I wasn’t honestly sure whether I was going to be able to continue story-writing. They warned me my schedule would be totally slagged, and they were quite right. It didn’t exactly help that the traffic in my area has been exponentially worse lately. See, where I live, we have a rather large river. In Oregon Trail days people could just ford that sucker and go on their merry, but nowadays we have these wonderful things called bridges. Unfortunately, bridges (like a lot of other things) get old and irritable, and one of ours got cracked up somewhere, and so it was promptly shut down. This has had rather an unfortunate effect on our local traffic. You remember that moment in Bruce Almighty when Jim Carrey uses his Godlike powers to part the traffic? That is exactly what our roads have not been like. The other day it took me two hours to drive what would normally have taken a half-hour. It did not help that the audiobook I was listening to was the Biblical account of the children of Israel being stuck in the wilderness for forty years. Life is full of little ironies.

Fortunately, even with traffic woes and scheduling difficulties, I finally managed to work out a writing time. I remembered a post The Hack Novelist had written a while back about getting up early in the morning and knocking out a bit of writing before his day job began, and I was inspired. So, this is what I have been doing: I get up at six or seven, depending on my schedule that day, drive out to the school, head to the same chilly but quiet room in the basement, grab a Mountain Dew from the vending machine, plug in my lovely Toshiba, and after a bit of preliminary email and Facebook checking, set to work. My goal is to hit 500 words. No more, no less. After that I do my official studying, toiling away with Civil Procedure problem sets or typing up Property case briefs, but first, always first, those five hundred words. Because whatever else I am, I’m always a writer. 😛

So, what exactly has my story been about? Well, basically, my inspiration came from That Hideous Strength, where C.S. Lewis has a memorable scene with the angelic spirits of planets descending to Earth. I got to thinking, what if stars had spirits like that? And what if they came down to our world? And what if not all of them were pure as the driven snow? There’s a lot of star-people in Narnia, Coriakin and Ramandu (and his daughter, who does not have a name, I don’t care what the movie chose to call her), but they’re all good people. There’s a reference in the Dawn Treader book where Aslan says “it is not for you to know what faults a star can commit”. And I’ve always wondered, what faults could a star commit?

As it turned out, this story is shaping up to a distant prequel of sorts to Hailfire,  and may actually explain why the people of that story have superpowers. If you have the blood of a Star in your veins, shouldn’t you have the power of a Star as well? It’s a thought, no? The trouble is, I won’t nearly be finished with this story in time for NaNoWriMo. Even assuming I could do it this year, what do I do? Set the star story aside and knock out a whole new story? Or be a NaNo rebel and keep plugging away on the same story? Is a puzzlement, as Yul Brynner would say. Meanwhile….

And that brings me to an award I received from Trisha, the 7×7 Link Award. Huzzah! I gather I’m supposed to link several of my past posts. Ooh, a recap! Those are always wacky and zany! So, to the matter….

Most Beautiful: Hm. I suppose that all depends what one means by beauty. I will say, my  favorite visual image this far has come from The Tale of Ermingard, in which my plucky heroine Princess Catrina, while wielding a lightsaber and singing her Ride of the Valkyries-inspired theme, hurls herself bodily at a fleet of Velociraptors in helicopters. That’s beautiful, I don’t care who you are.

Most Helpful: the How to Survive in A Superhero World post. Because, hey, if our world ever does actually get superheroes, you’ll need to know how to survive. Don’t get too attached to your car, and learn to swim. Now you know!

Most Popular: oddly, Caitlin vs. Vladimir. (Caitlin, for any new readers, was Princess Catrina’s old name. She got ret-conned. It happens.) To this day I get clicks from people searching for various permutations of Caitlin vs. Vladimir. I do not understand why, and I’m not sure I want to. The Internet, my friends, is a strange and weird place at times.

Most Controversial: Um. I avoid controversial topics like the plague. I did harshly criticize a cartoon once. So here’s that. Scooby-Doo Meets Batman.

Most Successful: …this seems like the Popular one over again. But on the other hand, success is more than popularity. I suppose you could say the first Catrina story was successful, in that it launched the Catrina Chronicles. H’ray! Moving on…

Most Underrated: ….well, I found a poor lonely post I wrote way back that didn’t receive any comments. (Cue the violins).  It was on the joy of audiobooks. People still listen to those, right?

Most Prideworthy: I’m not sure how to measure this. But, one of my favorite short stories, Mom Power, was written after I’d watched a movie. I usually don’t write after I’ve watched a movie; the images from the movie muck up my imagination and I can’t visualize the story properly. I wrote this after Muppet Treasure Island. Make of that what you will.

Finally, I see I need to pass the award on to 7 blogger friends. But since I’m a total, like, rebel, I’m going to pick one person instead. One is the new seven. Word. Also, she left the 200th comment on this blog, and that’s something to be darn proud of. So here’s to Jes at The Glass Bubble.

*applauds*.

Well, that’s all for today. Till next time!

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I’m glad you’ve had the time for everything you want to achieve, young man! Good job.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

