Skip to content

Day After The Day After

by on December 27, 2011

Ah, December 27th. The day after the day after Christmas. I could do a sentimental post reflecting on the holiday season just past….but that probably would not be amusing, and after the last story I just did, I feel the need for humor. So, going off a post delorfinde did on her blog, I thought I would do much the same thing with this little Ninja flash drive on which I have songs. The idea is, if I understand correctly, you take your music player and randomly shuffle through the songs, using their titles to answer the following questions. So….let the magic begin.

IF SOMEONE SAYS, “ARE YOU OKAY,” YOU SAY….

“Christmas and Sousa Forever!”  (Julie Giroux Presents: Concert Band Christmas Gone Crazy).  -[sounds like a good rallying cry, no?]

HOW WOULD YOU DESCRIBE YOURSELF?

You’re A Mean One, Mr. Grinch.  …..-[et tu, music playlist?]

WHAT DO YOU LIKE IN A GIRL?

Oompa-Loompa-Doompadee-Doo (the rock version, by January). -[so, apparently, my soulmate is destined to be tiny and orange. Ooookay….]

HOW DO YOU FEEL TODAY?

“Strike!” (Commentary! the Musical, by Joss Whedon and co.)  -[this survey’s going to a dark place, have you noticed?]

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE’S PURPOSE?

“Do You Hear the People Sing?” (Les Miserables)  – [yes! yes I do! huzzah]

WHAT’S YOUR MOTTO?

Theme from Schindler’s List/Via Dolorosa Medley  – [ouch. and we’re back to the dark place again]

WHAT DO YOUR FRIENDS THINK OF YOU?

Commentary Reprise  (Commentary! the Musical)

WHAT DO YOUR PARENTS THINK OF YOU?

Horrible Credits (Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog)  -…this is getting depressing].

WHAT DO YOU THINK ABOUT VERY OFTEN?

“What Are You Trying to Say There?”  (Commentary! the Musical) – [sadly, this is true. my real-life social skills are atrocious. ]

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR BEST FRIEND?

Friday (Orchestra Tribute to Rebecca Black)  – [I see my friends….]

WHAT IS YOUR LIFE STORY?

“Aren’t You Guys Forgetting Something?” (Commentary! the Musical).  – [true again. this is becoming eerie]

WHAT DO YOU WANT TO BE WHEN YOU GROW UP?

“Bad Horse Chorus” (Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog).  -[hey, I could be a great part of the Evil League of Evil.]

WHAT DO YOU THINK WHEN YOU SEE THE PERSON YOU LIKE?

“Firefly: Main Title” – [shiny!]

WHAT WILL THEY PLAY AT YOUR FUNERAL?

“Heart, Broken” (Commentary: the Musical).  – [probably how I died, I expect, what with being part of the Evil League of Evil and knowing what my friends think about me)

WHAT IS YOUR HOBBY/INTEREST?

“When Johnny Comes Marching Home”  – [I do like reading war novels and such….]

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST FEAR?

The Prayer (Celine Dion and Andrea Bocelli). -[give us faith so we’ll be safe, indeed.]

WHAT IS YOUR BIGGEST SECRET?

“The Hunt for Red October”  (Basil Poledouris) – [yes, I’m secretly a Soviet submarine captain who’s attempting to defect to the West. don’t tell).

WHAT DO YOU WANT RIGHT NOW?

“Battle Hymn of the Republic” (Julia Ward Howe).  -[glory, glory, hallelujah!]

WHAT DO YOU THINK OF YOUR FRIENDS?

“God Rest Ye, Merry Gentlemen” (MercyMe)  – [about time things started getting cheery]

WHAT’S YOUR BEST PICK-UP LINE?

“Caring Hands” (Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog).  -[I promise, you won’t end up like Penny, all corpsified and gross….wait, come back!]

IF YOU MET A HOBO WHAT WOULD YOU SAY TO HIM?

“Magneto” (X-Men First Class).  – [whereupon I would probably run, because Magneto is one scary villain, even if he were a hobo]

WHAT DO YOU HAVE TO SAY TO YOUR TRUE LOVE?

“Neil’s Turn” (Commentary! the Musical).  -[which is probably why I’m still single….]

WHAT DO YOU SEE WHEN YOU LOOK IN THE MIRROR?

Christmas/Sarajevo 12/24 (Trans-Siberian Orchestra)  -[you know that’s right]

WHAT SONG DO YOU SING IN THE SHOWER?

“All About Me” (Commentary: the Musical)  – [yes, I do indeed].

WHAT DOES YOUR DOCTOR SAY WHEN YOU GO IN FOR A CHECK-UP?

“Everything You Ever” -Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog  – [now the nightmare’s real….gee, thanks, Doc]

WHAT’S YOUR EXCUSE FOR DISAPPEARING?

The Imperial March (Star Wars)  -[what do you mean, it’s not a good excuse? I find your lack of faith disturbing]

WHAT’S YOUR THEME SONG?

“The Mob Song” -Beauty and the Beast [raise the flag! sing the song! here we come, we’re fifty strong, and fifty Frenchmen can’t be wrooooong….]

WHAT DOES YOUR COFFEE MUG SAY?

“Shiver My Timbers” (Muppet Treasure Island). -[I don’t drink coffee, but if I did, that is totally what my mug would say…]

well, I think this might’ve been skewed slightly towards Joss Whedon songs, which is, admittedly, not a horrible thing. (see what I did there?).  still, a tick depressing. note to self: get happier songs.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Miriam Joy permalink

    Yours mostly seem to work! The first time I did this, I just got loads of random Gaelic songs, so when I did it again on my blog I only used the English language titles that popped up, as it was otherwise rather less fun :/

    Here’s another game – the last song you listened to is what they will play at your funeral.

    • just tried that. I got “Mother Knows Best Reprise” from Tangled. …which would be weird, but yet awesome, if they played that. I do so love the Disney villain songs.

  2. Thanks for the glimpse behind the curtain, my friend.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

