Skip to content

In Soviet Russia, Resolutions Make You!

by on January 4, 2012

Do people still make “In Soviet Russia” jokes? I assume they do, but then, I could be wrong. I had assumed that the “your mother wears army boots” was still a common insult, but then I was informed in a conversation with friends that it’s not so much. Which is probably for the best, since I never understood why that should be an insult to begin with. What is so offensive about one’s mother’s choice of military-style footwear? Anyway.

Moving right along, it’s a brand new year, and so, it is the time for resolutions. I suppose this year I should actually make a few; I don’t usually. But I think it would be helpful to set some new writing goals. I will have a post later on with stats from the Chrysalis Experiment I participated in last year, where the goal was to write one story a week based on a weekly prompt. It was great fun, and so I think I shall try to keep doing that. Except I will probably take a couple weeks off for law school exams and/or the Mayan Apocalypse. So, goal number one:

1) Write between 40 to 50 short stories this year.

Most of these will probably be further adventures in the Catrina Chronicles (she really does need her spleen back), which leads me to goal number two:

2)  Edit and self-publish Catrina in Space, my NaNoWriMo ’11 project.

I personally have no qualms about self-publishing Catrina in Space, because that way it’ll fly quickly into the hands of you, fellow Catriniacs and NaNo-ers, and you’ll be happy, and I’ll be happy, and there’ll be general good feelings all around.  Moving on…

3) Edit and possibly put out the Hailfire sequels

With all the random wacky humor I’ve been writing, I do not want to neglect my serious works. I’ve already written the two sequels to Hailfire, but they’re quite in need of editing. So I don’t plan on writing any more big stories, just short ones and then editing, at least, not until goal number four.

4) NaNoWriMo ’12.

I have no idea what I want to write for that. Another Catrina novel? A fourth Hailfire story? Something new altogether? Who knows?

I figure four goals is about enough at present, especially since I’m still in law school. And what fun that is. This semester we’re starting Criminal Law, and our first case involves murder and cannibalism on the high seas, in Victorian England no less. Corks and blimey!

From → Writing Process

4 Comments
  1. I’m not sure about Nano either, but I do have one idea that’s been floating around for a few weeks. Might give that one a go!

    Anyway, I’m here to read a Catrina story, so I have to figure out where the heck I got up to and start at the next story. hehe

    • I figure I’ll get an idea eventually. I already have a title. Princess Catrina and the Philosopher’s Spleen. Whether that’ll be NaNo, or the next blog story arc, I don’t know, but still. I am using that title. 😛

  2. Good luck achieving your goals, my friend!

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

