Skip to content

The Avengers: a Review

by on May 5, 2012

I suppose I could write several coherent paragraphs with a fair objective critique of the film, but to be honest, it was so epic and awesome I really don’t think I could find the appropriate words. So, instead, I thought I would try to give you, faithful reader, a picture of what it was like watching the film, by describing what you might have heard if you were in the theater. And as some of this might be spoilery, here’s the obligatory spoiler warning. Anywho. Roll film!

“Oooh….”  “Oh, that looks interesting.” “Cool, an aircraft carrier. I wonder-HOLY-“.””Did he just-oh he did!”  “Oh, that’s not going to end well.”  “BAHAHAHA.”  …”Ow. Right for the eyeball. That’s gotta hurt.”  “Hey, no crucial character’s died yet. Whew. Maybe this won’t be like Serenity or-DARNIT JOSS.”  *tear*. “Oh. Oh here we go. This is going to be-OH MY. ”  “That’s not a good sound….”  “BAHAHAHAHA (again).”

And so on. There was applause, laughter (lots and lots of laughter), appropriate silences in appropriate moments, a horrified gasp or two, and a good many variations on expletives that begin with “Holy-!” as we saw sight after impressive sight.  My favorite moment, among many, would have to be the scene where Loki starts monologuing, as villains are wont to do, and then the Hulk grabs him and slams him around like a toy. That, and the way Tony Stark casually referred to Loki as “Reindeer Games”. And the part where Tony arrived in Germany to help Captain America start pounding on Loki….and as he starts, he turns on his own background music.  Iron Man brought his own fight music. Just consider how cool that is. And then there’s the way Hawkeye shot one of those alien soldiers out of the sky without even looking at him, while carrying on a conversation with Captain America. And the way the Hulk and Thor tore through Grand Central Station, smashed the aliens, stood looking around in the wreckage….and then the Hulk just casually swats him off screen.  Seriously, who would’ve thought the Hulk could provide such comedic potential?

So, in summary, great movie. Really. Go see it. It’s incredible.

 

From → Uncategorized

16 Comments
  1. I’m probably the only person on the planet who has the hots for that Loki guy, but I’m okay with it. hahaha. I really enjoyed the film, but not sure it was as freakin’ awesome as the world seems to think. That’s ’cause I’m biased against CGI stuff that looks like CGI stuff (which is basically all of it, ever). I want it to be totally realistic so you definitely cannot tell it’s fake. I know, I ask a lot. hehe

    • I carefully avoided reading this review until I’d watched the film in question – yes I know, I’m horribly late to this particular party!
      I enjoyed it so much I watched it twice in a week! (Though that may also have something to do with the fact that I was, ahem, distracted first time round and wanted to concentrate more on the actual plot the second time. Or at least attempt to do so. No, Trisha, you are NOT alone…!!) Then I remembered that you’d done a review from which I had averted my eyes, Michael, and because I love your reviews I thought, ‘hurrah, at last!’
      In a word, teehee!
      Love the ‘what you will hear in the cinema’ as opposed to ‘what you will see onscreen’ – classic! And accurate.
      P.s. yes I do always laugh at that scene but then feel guilty. I think I have issues…

  2. I carefully avoided reading this review until I’d watched the film in question – yes I know, I’m horribly late to this particular party!
    I enjoyed it so much I watched it twice in a week! (Though that may also have something to do with the fact that I was, ahem, distracted first time round and wanted to concentrate more on the actual plot the second time. Or at least attempt to do so. No, Trisha, you are NOT alone…!!) Then I remembered that you’d done a review from which I had averted my eyes, Michael, and because I love your reviews I thought, ‘hurrah, at last!’
    In a word, teehee!
    Love the ‘what you will hear in the cinema’ as opposed to ‘what you will see onscreen’ – classic! And accurate.
    P.s. yes I do always laugh at that scene but then feel guilty. I think I have issues…

    • If you liked Loki in The Avengers, you’d love him in Thor 2. The man is hysterical. He mimics Captain America to a T. A star-spangled T, even. 😛

      • I know!!! I just saw it!!! Totally awesome. He always gets the best lines…
        Ta-da! 😉
        Are you going to review that one too??

      • I might; I need to get back into the swing of movie reviews again. It has been a little while since I saw it, though.
        Yeah, the “ta-da” cracked me up. Also the cell phone call to Svartalfheim. Thor’s all, “It’s not mine.” 😛

      • Well you’ll just have to watch it again in order to do a fully-flavoured review… what a shame. Haha.
        I thought the humour was top-notch. I giggled in several places. And embarrassed my friends by weeping like a watering-can in one part … uh oh.

      • That would be the part with the Asgardian funeral, I’d guess. That whole scene was so well done and emotionally wrenching. The violins….oh, those violins.

      • Argh I know!! A total killer. Very well done. Actually there were two places I cried.

      • The other one would be the one with Loki on Svartalfheim, maybe? I don’t think I was as upset over that, since I assumed he was faking it somehow. (And, as it turns out…. 😛 )

      • I know. I should definitely have seen that coming, and on one small level somewhere in the back of my brain, I think I actually did.
        It was just a rather large shock to my system….!!! My friends disowned me at that point.

      • I tend to watch movies alone; no danger of disowning there. Though, I will say, watching The Avengers in company was definitely a rewarding experience. The gales of laughter during the Loki-Smash alone… 🙂

      • Very wise!
        Haha yes even someone with my bias has to admit the timing of that was perfect. Plus at that point he did sort of deserve it. Nobody that tall should be allowed to indulge in a temper tantrum even if it is delivered in faultless English…

      • Plus, it calls back to his brother’s tasing by in the Thor movie. “You dare threaten me, Thor, with so puny a-” *BZZZZZZT*. My favorite part of that was the horrified look on Natalie Portman’s face.

      • Haha!!!! Yes indeed.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Man of Steel: a Review | Hypothetically Writing

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

