Skip to content

A New Writing Challenge!

by on May 23, 2012

Well now. The things one discovers on the Internet. I had participated in the Chrysalis Experiment last year, and that was exceptionally fun, particularly as it inspired the Catrina Chronicles. But that ended in December, and so I was thinking about doing another weekly prompt sort of thing. Lo and behold, I have found one. The Trifecta Writing Challenge, which I just discovered the other day, and which posts not one but two writing challenges a week! Hooray!  I think this could do wonders for the Catrina Chronicles, add that extra little bit of randomness. Plus, who knows the other characters it could inspire?

At any rate, rather than plunge right into the challenge, I suppose I should fill out the check-in form. It’s been a while since I’ve done a survey, so, here we go.

1. What is your name (real or otherwise)?

Arthur, King of the Britons!  No, actually, it’s not, but I couldn’t resist the Monty Python allusion.  Actually, my name’s Michael, and my blog here is hypotheticallywriting.

2. Describe your writing style in three words.
Random and wacky.  (And totally counts as one of the words. Right? Of course right).
3. How long have you been writing online?
On this blog in particular, since January in 2011. As far as online generally….well, I’ve been on Facebook since, oh, 2005, maybe 2006, because I remember distinctly when they opened it up to everyone. Good times.
4. Which, if any, other writing challenges do you participate in?
Well, there’s NaNoWriMo. I’m seriously considering doing their summer challenge, to write a whole novel in either June or August. And naturally I’ll be doing it again in November. Fourth year running!
5. Describe one way in which you could improve your writing.
Proofreading, I expect. I tend to write in a single burst, and I don’t go back and reread the post before publishing it, so more often than not there’s little spelling errors and plotholes like crazy. Then again, in the Catrina Chronicles, continuity long since shattered into a zillion pieces.
6. What is the best writing advice you’ve ever been given?
Good question. Well….I read once, in a post by The Hack Novelist, where he said that he got up early every morning before work, went to a particular coffee shop, and started writing. That inspired me, because when I first read that I hadn’t really been setting out a regular writing time, I’d just been writing whenever I had a chance. So, when I started law school next year, I left a little earlier every morning than I needed to, set up in a quiet place downstairs, and tried to write at least 500 words. It worked out pretty well, more or less; I kinda fell off from that in the second semester due to schoolwork, but I mean to pick it back up any day now. (Really).
7. Who is your favorite author?
Ooh….now there’s a tough question. I’ll just say that one of my favorite authors is Douglas Adams; his wonderfully random British humor inspired me to no end.
8. How do you make time to write?
Well, as I mentioned above, I used to get up early every morning and write something. Now, what with summer break and all….I just try to snatch a spot of writing time whenever I can. I might, for example, only watch one episode of Smallville instead of two, and spend that extra 40 minutes writing. (Side note: I really do enjoy Smallville.)
9. Give us one word we should consider using as a prompt. Remember–it must have a third definition.
Spleen. It’s just fun to say, as are any of its variants, like splenetic…asplenia…:P
10. Direct us to one blog post of yours that we shouldn’t miss reading.
Oh goodness. Well. Um….one of my favorites has been Piratic, which started out as a fanfic based on Titanic, but then the space lizards attacked.
Fortunately the hamsters were there to help.
And that’s the end of the questions. This should be fun!
From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Your writing is excellent considering you haven’t proofread it, generally 😉 I am impressed! I haven’t started reading Catrina in Space yet so I’m sure that stuff is even more polished than your usual high standard 🙂

    YAY for a new challenge!! Posting prompts twice-weekly, now there’s a scary thought (said by a girl who struggled to think of a prompt once every three weeks for Chrysalis! hehe)

    • Well, I wouldn’t say excellent, considering that my last Catrina post included the line, “she’d win all that team”. I meant to say ” all the time”. Also once I had Susan shrieking “like a madwomen”. Not woman, mind you, madwomen. Grammar fail. 😛

  2. Robert Waitforit Reed permalink

    I read your post in lumps and look forward to your next writing challenge. Let me know if you are doing the June or August and I will join you.

    • I’m considering the June one; August starts a new term at the law school, and I fear I shall be terribly busy. On the other hand, I’m terribly busy now anyway, so….it’s a dilemma.

  3. Let’s hear it for the late Douglas Adams!! I love him too. He was one of the greats. British humour. Yes, I suppose his particular brand of bizarre yet somehow deadpan wackyness IS quintessentially English. Being (mostly) English myself, I hadn’t really thought of that until you said.
    I tried to comment on one of your posts but it didn’t work, for some reason 😦
    Anyway, I am a fan of your new Volcano Rain series 🙂

    • Sorry your comment didn’t work; I don’t know what happened. Very distressing. I do try to let everyone’s comments through…
      Truly Douglas Adams was a great writer. I haven’t read the book “And Another Thing” that Eoin Colfer wrote as a follow-up to Mostly Harmless; I’m sure it’s very good, but it can’t beat Adams himself.
      And I’m glad you like the Volcano Rain series. Hopefully it will all end out well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

