Skip to content

The Ballad of a Farm

by on May 26, 2012

This weekend’s Trifextra Writing Challenge was to write a poem, in either 33 words, 3 lines or 3 stanzas.  I went with the three-stanza option. It was either this or try to write an episode of the Catrina Chronicles in verse, and honestly, I don’t think Catrina would stick to three stanzas. Her favorite number’s 17, and 17 stanzas is a lot to ask. So…yeah. Enjoy!

 

Shelly never knew that her life’s existence clung to likes and clicks.

Shelly raised her sheep upon her farm, lived happily and free. 

Never even knew that her daily successes depended on whether

Marsha had saved up enough XP.


But in the real world Marsha misplaced her Facebook login, lost like the meter of this poem

And then decided to give up her tech and move abroad to help underprivileged youth on an island in the Pacific,

And she never gave a thought to her Farmville posts on a wall that some of her 1,242 friends popped in on occasionally to wish her happy birthday or ask her to play Mafia Wars.

She never responded, but that was okay, since her real-world friends understood that she had gone off the grid and got back to nature.

 

Everyone understood.

Except for Shelly, her neglected Farmville avatar.

Alas, Shelly.

From → Uncategorized

9 Comments
  1. This is so creative and wonderful! I am finding myself worrying about Shelly – LOL!

    • I’m worrying about her too now…maybe in later posts I’ll go back to her and see if she’s been rescued from her sad plight. 🙂

  2. Julia permalink

    This is great! I have a mental image of a Farmville dust-bowl with little tumbleweeds everywhere and a forlorn, dusty Shelly sadly waiting on Marsha to log in. Bravo!

    • Don’t forget the sad harmonica music. There’s always the sad harmonica music.

  3. Hahaa!! I loved the twist that Shelley was a farmville avatar. Poooor Shelley. My Farmville or farm whatever avatar lies in tragedy. But I planted my farm into the shape of a castle before I quit for good.

  4. Thank you so much for linking up to Trifextra this weekend. The challenge this weekend will be judged by the community. So please come back to the Trifecta home page and click the stars next to the three posts you most enjoyed. You only have until Monday at 8 am EST, so hurry!

  5. HAHAHA… I love your apparent Farmville fixation 🙂

    • ironically, I’ve never actually played Farmville, though I did get into Mafia Wars and the Carmen Sandiego FB game for a while…:)

      • Yeah, I haven’t played Farmville either, but I have seen lots of cool Farmville jokes out there & then you started mentioning it, so…it seems to be stalking me. haha

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

