Skip to content

Last Lines

by on July 18, 2012

So, following on from yesterday’s post, here’s all the last lines of Catrina in Space for this Hookers and Hangers blogfest. I haven’t quite looked through them yet; I’m hoping there’s at least one that’s mildly cliffhanger-y. Right, then. Roll film!

1.  “Catrina.”

2. ““Where is Princess Catrina?”

3. Now all Murphy needed to do was stop his internal soliloquizing and read it.

4. “See you in Character Hell! Again!

5. If there were any place in the land she could find news of the late and unlamented Vladimir’s army, Kumquat City would be it.

6. A brisk late-spring breeze filled the sails, and so the not-so-good ship Shivering Barnacles went to sea, making straight towards the north.

7. He couldn’t change last night. What he could change was the next, and so he galloped on, tearing hard towards the western horizon.

8. Indeed the shocked Percy hardly made a whimper as they headed out into the throng of partiers, aiming right for the castle walls.

9. . It took a long tense hour for her to set that up, though, as she had to rewrite several strings of code and input the correct commands, and reboot the system, and by the time she did all that, it was already too late.

10. On the other hand, there were a few things that neither they nor Murphy knew just yet.

11. . The question was, once they got back to her home world, what exactly were they going to do about Murphy?

12. And so, for almost everyone in the story except perhaps Murphy the Terrible, they all lived happily ever after.

***

Murphy’s one of the two villains in the story, so you know. And I must admit, I rather like number 4. Character Hell, for any new arrivals, is where all the bad novel characters go when they die. The good ones go to Character Heaven. Catrina’s been to both. She has a complicated life.

From → Uncategorized

31 Comments
  1. Oh I like all of these, but love #4 too, especially after the explanation. That’s awesome! Great job 🙂

  2. I liked #3 best because it made me laugh. Great job on all of them 🙂

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it; Murphy was a fun villain to write. Though I’m not sure he ever did stop monologuing and all that. It’s a problem for villains, you know.

  3. martin permalink

    Number 4 was a ‘stop and read that again’ line. Brilliant.

    • I’m glad you liked that line so much; it’s my favorite as well. Thanks for commenting!

  4. These are great. The last one makes me laugh a bit. 🙂

  5. I really liked #7! Good job!

  6. I liked #4 and #7 best. 🙂 I laughed at a few of them. Sounds like a fun book.

  7. Ha! I love the name ‘Shivering Barnacles’ for a ship!

    • It’s a piratical ship, so the name seemed appropriate. Heh.

      • Yep, that’s why this was my favourite:

        A brisk late-spring breeze filled the sails, and so the not-so-good ship Shivering Barnacles went to sea, making straight towards the north.

        purely because of Shivering Barnacles 😉

  8. Hey, I’ve got a Murphy in my current WIP too. He’s a good guy though.

    #10 is my favorite.

    • Murphy’s definitely not a good guy in mine. Though I’ve read other stories with good Murphies in them. C’est la vie.

  9. Well done! I especially liked #4 and also #7!

  10. Very intriguing! And #9 is super cliffhangery 🙂

    • I’m glad at least one of them was. I should mention, the “she” in question here is an intelligent space hamster named Valentina. She’s trying to help save the meta-verse. Things get dodgy for a bit. 🙂

  11. #4 and #7 were my faves too. It sounds like there’s a lot going on in the story!

    • Ironically, no one actually goes to Character Hell in the story. This time, anyway. But I’m glad everyone seems to like the mention of it. 😛

  12. I am intrigued! #4 and #7 are my choices.

  13. I’ll be the odd ball and go with #11. Interesting to know what home world is and why does she have to do anything with Murphy???

    • It’s a long story, but basically Murphy’s one of the two villains. She doesn’t like him very much; they have a fight over her planet. 🙂

  14. Haha, I have to go with #4 and the fact that the characters can go to heaven or hell is such a fun idea. Great hangers!!

    • well, I imagine my characters are real people, you see, and so naturally I wondered what happens to them when I kill them off…and the rest is history.

  15. This one is so interesting:

    “See you in Character Hell! Again!”

    And thanks for the explanation on it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

