Skip to content

Assemble!

by on September 20, 2012

This post was written for Trifecta’s weekly writing challenge, and pretty much makes reference to all the characters that have popped up at one time or another in my Trifecta stories so far. I figured they’d want to get to know each other. 😛

Spaceships, especially if they are alien battle cruisers wielding enough firepower to vaporize a planet, are not typically supposed to be things of beauty. K’Pid’s ship, by contrast, was a joy to behold, an elegant poem of a ship. Pity the Earthlings wouldn’t be able to appreciate it, she reflected, as she stepped into her landing pod. Technically she wasn’t supposed to be landing anywhere on the third planet; she’d received word ago that her superiors meant for her to colonize Venus instead. Her superiors hadn’t sent new official written orders yet, though, and K’Pid had heard stories more than once about engineers who’d deviated from their written orders and then got sacked, or worse. Her memo said the third planet, in triplicate, properly initialed. So the third planet she would invade.

Hardly had she set foot on a Kansan cornfield field, however, when an Earthling ran shrieking up to her. “It’s alive! It’s after me! Not my fault! I just flipped the switch like Farthington said! Now it’s alive! Help!”

“What?” K’Pid said.

At that moment, Fillmore Streamlet parachuted casually in, bored as usual. “So Cyan was right. An alien spacecraft did land out here. Right then, I suppose you’ll want me to take you to my leader. Unless you’re going to play the “I want to eat your brains” card. Please don’t. That’s so cliché.”

“What?” K’Pid repeated.

A sudden blur of motion streaked in from the horizon and resolved itself into a dashing figure in brightly colored tights. “Fear not, citizens!” Captain Happily Married declaimed. “I shall save you from the alien menace!”

“What?” K’Pid said, for no good reason other than it seemed the thing to say.

Just then a bellowing roar boomed from the edge of the cornfield, and the horrifyingly ample form of Frankenmanatee galumphed into view, its undead face twisted in rage. K’Pid, badly confused, began to wonder if she should’ve invaded the second planet after all. There were, to her knowledge, no manatees on Venus.

9 Comments
  1. Oh my. I had to laugh at this. I’d love to see what happens from here with this cast of characters!

    • I would too; I have no idea what’s going to happen myself, so it’ll be interesting to see what they do. 🙂

  2. I like the phrase-an elegant poem of a ship

    • I’m assuming that it’s one of those Shakespearan ballad type of poems, and not a free-verse thing where nothing rhymes. 😛

  3. Trifecta permalink

    Ah! I love the idea of all the characters meeting up. And Captain Happily Married is perhaps the best name ever. Clever post!

    • yeah, he’s become my favorite superhero. Not to mention he’s married to Super Soccer Mom.

  4. That made me laugh. I think I’d have reacted the same way K’Pid did.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Contact « Hypothetically Writing

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

