Skip to content

NaNoWriMo 2012

by on October 15, 2012

Ah, NaNoWriMo. How do I love thee? Let me count the ways. Or the words, rather. (/rimshot).

I’ve done NaNoWriMo for three years now, and so far I’ve managed to squeak through in time. I’ve written through unexpected dental emergencies, surprise power outages at the coffee shop, and an intense first semester of law school. Fun times. I also have three shirts and a hoodie, said hoodie I plan to wear religiously this year for luck. I shall need it; the second year of law school is significantly more involved than the first. I have zillions of written assignments, extra-curricular activities, and then of course there’s exams looming on the horizon, more ominous than that crowd of penguins chanting “Doom on you!” in the first Ice Age movie.
Anyway, this year I’m switching my format just a bit and going to my favorite genre: superhero stories. Specifically, I’m going to write the dramatic saga of Captain Happily Married and Super Soccer Mom, as they battle the villainous Decedent Man. His goal: to break up their marriage, so that he can kill the good Captain and claim his property by intestacy. *Gasp*.Ā  ….yes, law school may have contributed slightly to the plot. Don’t judge me.
I have a tentative first line worked out, thanks to a helpful thread on the NaNoWriMo website.

“It wasn’t exactly love at first sight; it was more like love at first explosion, because from the moment the captain saw her soccer ball plummet out of the sky and unleash a blast of concussive force that tore the laser-eyed penguin robots to pieces, he knew that he loved her.”

Doesn’t that just warm your heart?Ā  I still have a bit of planning to do; I don’t yet know the captain’s civilian identity, or Super Soccer Mom’s either; I haven’t worked out Decedent Man’s precise powers yet, and I only have the vague idea of a plot. I’ve always been more of what NaNoWriMo calls a pantser at these things; I may have a scene that I’ll write towards, but how my characters get there is something I make up as I go. Or they make up, even; two years ago I had a character who suddenly decided to ask another to marry him, and neither she nor I saw that one coming at all. Who knows what will happen this year. Maybe Captain Happily Married will….*gasp*….turn to the dark side? Maybe Catrina will come in with annotations and then wind up taking over the story? Who knows?

From → Uncategorized

6 Comments
  1. Great first line! I have no doubt that your story this year will rock as much as your stories tend to do! Look forward to seeing your progress throughout November šŸ™‚

    • I look forward to seeing your progress on your rewrite as well. Also, you’ve officially left the 1,000th comment! Congrats! Mazel tov! Huzzah! šŸ™‚

  2. Exciting! I think I may be giving up on NaNoWriMo for this year (too many things going on), but I hope it goes swimmingly for you.

    • I’ve got a ton of things going on as well, to be honest, so I may not finish this year. but still, I’d like to try. šŸ™‚

  3. Very cool opening!

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. NaNoWriMo 2013 | Hypothetically Writing

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660ā€“1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

