Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Day Five

by on November 5, 2012

So, I’m a bit behind where I should be at present, but never fear, I have high hopes of catching up. I have, however, run into another little difficulty; I am wondering whether my characters will sound authentic. I’m having to write a very big family, which means that most of them are different ages. I’ve got a twelve-year-old girl, a thirteen-year-old boy, several older teenagers of different genders, plus someone in their late twenties, which is where I am, and I worry that all my characters are going to sound like they’re all twenty-year-olds. Granted, the thirteen-year-old is probably advanced for his age, as his superpower is that he doesn’t have to sleep, so he has a lot  of free time on his hands. 😛
At any rate, I’m not certain about my ability to do normal, sentimental scenes like your average Full House family moment, but then, I’m having fun offsetting that by throwing superpowers into the mix. For example, here’s an excerpt from Day Two.

“Dear,” she replied calmly, “I don’t think now is the right time to have this discussion.”

“Because you think that we can’t work through our difficulties like reasonable people, and address this problem like adults?”

“No, because there’s a robot with laser eyes trying to blow up my left arm, and I’ve used up my last exploding soccer ball.”

You tell ’em, Super Soccer Mom. 😛
In other news, Catrina is now up to 11 footnotes and counting, and I have discovered a new book that has instantly become one of my favorites: Miss Buncle’s Book, by D.E. Stevenson. I read about it through a book review on Glass of Fancy, and I was intrigued by the premise, so I ordered it off of Amazon. It was brilliant. For one thing, it’s really, genuinely funny, not just ironically funny or satirically funny, which is a lot of what we have nowadays. I literally laughed aloud while reading it, and I haven’t done that over a book in a good long time. (Exception: I giggled a bit over reading one of the old Hardy Boys books, but that was because the bad guy was monologuing in a terribly obvious way. I wasn’t laughing with the author, if you follow me). Second, it’s so delightfully British; the wit and wordplay, the accents, the one elderly gentlemen at a Very Important Meeting who pops up in the middle and wants to know when they’re ‘aving tea. He’s got no idea what it’s all about, but he wants his tea. I cracked up.  I understand there’s a sequel, which I will definitely be getting as soon as may be. And I’ll probably be seeking out all of D.E. Stevenson’s other books as well.
Well, that’s about all for today, I guess. I do plan to do more short stories and hopefully another Catrina episode before too long, assuming I can make time with NaNoWriMo and law school and the fifty-zillion other things going on. Ah, c’est la vie.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. I’m glad you liked Miss Buncle! It cracked me up too.

    Sounds like your NaNoWriMo novel is going to be fun. I hope it all irons itself out for you.

  2. Keep up the good work, buddy!

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

