Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: 50,049

by on December 1, 2012

Well, I finished. Somehow it seemed more difficult this year. I had to stretch sometimes to get to 1,667 words (the amount you’re supposed to hit each day to stay on track). I expect it’s because I was distracted by the second year of law school. There’s a saying that gets tossed around these hallowed halls: “The first year they scare you to death, the second year they work you to death, and the third year they bore you to death.” I think I can safely say that I am very much looking forward to some nice pleasant boredom. I may even experience ennui. Woo. Hoo.

At any rate, I did finally lurch over the finish line; in case you’re wondering about the outcome, naturally Captain Happily Married saved the world. (I write funny, not dystopia. You want dystopia: read Animal Farm.)  Catrina got herself into the story because she was so upset at the characters, but she eventually got out again with minimal uncomfortableness. I do plan on putting this out on CreateSpace eventually, but I want to do a lot of editing before that. In the meantime, here’s a final example of what I’ve been doing all this month. It’s the villain speech delivered by the Malevolent Med-Student in an attempt to rally his minions.

“Well,” he began unconvincingly. “Well. My fellow minions. We’re in a bit of a jam, it seems, but don’t worry, because deep down inside, I know we’re all going to stick together, just like peanut butter. The peanut butter of evil! And when you add peanut butter to jam and stick them in between two slices of bread, what do you get?”

“Um…” a minion volunteered. “A peanut-butter and jelly sandwich?”

“I don’t think I heard you. Say that again!”

“A peanut butter and jelly sandwich,” the minion said, a little louder.

“Again!”

“A peanut butter and jelly sandwich!”

“One more time!”

“A PEANUT BUTTER AND JELLY SANDWICH!” the minion roared, leaping up on a table, having been carried away with the excitement.

“Exactly!” the Malevolent Med-Student thundered. “And not just any peanut butter and jelly sandwich, no, this is the peanut butter and jelly sandwich of victory! And we’re going to eat that sandwich! And then we’re going to eat the Oreo cookies of the despair of our enemies, dunking them in the milk of their humiliation!”

I tell you; I was moved. To tears, even.

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. Congrats on the successful finish! I’m looking forward to trying it next year, sounds fun.

    Trust me, if you do a lick of work your third year, you’re doing it wrong. 😉 Of course, I didn’t do that much work my second year either…

    • My third year is when I’m planning to do all the tax and business law courses I need. It sounds riveting. Riveting, I tell you.

  2. Sorry it took so long to come and say congrats!!! but here I am! CONGRATS!!! 🙂 another victory under your belt! woo!

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

