Skip to content

Pigeons of the World, Unite

by on January 18, 2013

empire-state-pigeon-3_l

She could see it all, spread before her.

The Great Dropping would soon begin.

The humans falling. Her people rising. Statues getting splattered. Revolution.

“A new era,” Penelope cooed ominously. She couldn’t wait.

Trifecta’s weekend challenge was to use 33 words to describe one of three photos. This was the first thing that sprang to mind. I have an odd mind. Either that, or I’m harboring a secret fear of pigeons. C’est la vie.

Credit for the photo: ZeroOne / Foter.com / CC BY-SA

From → Uncategorized

39 Comments
  1. Draug419 permalink

    But then who would feed the pigeons?! (:

  2. I love this. Truly.

  3. I think we agree on the general “pigeons are evil” theme on our pieces. Am I right?

  4. This is awesome! I may never look up again.

  5. What an inspiring and funny story! “The Gread Dropping”, indeed:))

  6. Penelope, lovely name for a pigeon.

    • It’s harder to name a pigeon than one might think, but Penelope seemed to suit her. 🙂

  7. heh, i dig this! 🙂

  8. A new vision of the Apocalypse, perhaps? Cute one.

  9. They are evil, I know first hand, and dirty. The name was great.

  10. Hahaha! Aaaand…I think they they are starting with our front yard! The end is near 🙂

  11. The Great Dropping? I think I’m keeping indoors that day… *shudders*
    Awesome tale 🙂

  12. The Birds is Coming!
    Thanks for the laff!

    • I’ve never seen the Hitchcock movie about the bird invasion or whatever it was, but I’m thinking I should. We were warned…

  13. Love it! I picked this pic too!

  14. jwilliams057 permalink

    That’s kind of terrifying.

  15. Loved this one – Couldn’t think of what to do with the pigeon picture!

  16. Haha… dropping. Nice one (we had similar-ish thoughts on this one, though only slightly). Happy weekend!

  17. Pigeon Revolution FTW! I’ve never been much of a fan of pigeons.

  18. This is very funny!

  19. Oh mannnn! This poor pigeon! Lots of laughs as the poop really hits the fan with this photo!

  20. Darned pigeons! 😀

  21. The Great Dropping and ominous cooing. Yes!

  22. Penelope is a perfect name for a pigeon!

  23. LOL – I seriously laughed out loud when I read this! Thanks for spreading a little… (I started to say sunshine, but on second thought, I’ve got another word) MANURE! 😀

  24. [Insert Evil Laugh] Great story!

  25. Made me smile. The ‘Great Dropping’ – what a scary and messy thought.

  26. Ominous indeed!That too coming from someone sweetly named Penelope!lol!Enjoyed this thoroughly-ofc because it is only imaginary-God forbid it would ever become real!;-)

  27. You’ve got one of my three votes. I love this.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

