Skip to content

33

by on February 8, 2013

So, this weekend’s Trifecta prompt was to find 33 words from one of your favorite books, and post them. This was far more difficult than you’d think. I have so many favorite books. Heck, I have so many books, period. Three bookshelves just in my room alone. So it was a rum go, to use the British phrase. Speaking of British writers, I found a lovely quote from C.S. Lewis’s “Out of the Silent Planet”, but it was only 32 words. One word short! So close! And yet, so far.

So, I pondered. I mused. I googled. I scoured Wikisource.Β  I checked Matthew Stover, Alan Dean Foster, Brian Jacques, even J.R.R. Tolkien. Nothing worked. And then, on the brink of despair, I thought of Douglas Adams. Suddenly, there it was. From the book that has probably been the formative influence on my particular style of writing, “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy”, I present this 33-words-exactly quote.

“β€œIn those days spirits were brave, the stakes were high, men were real men, women were real women, and small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri were real small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri.”

 

Eureka. I had found it. And the world was right again.

From → Uncategorized

33 Comments
  1. Draug419 permalink

    I love Hitchhiker’s Guide! Such a great series of stories, although the last one seemed a bit…lacking when compared to the rest. Awesome words (:

    • “Mostly Harmless” was depressing, is what it was. The last time I read the series, I stopped after the fourth one. Generally I prefer happy-ish endings. πŸ™‚

  2. Great choice.

  3. Kir Piccini permalink

    yay,good words! And they seem so contemporary today, that people were people, and life was life. If only it “could be like that again” right? It seems every generation wants their own kind of normalcy.

    Excellent choice πŸ™‚

    • Indeed. I expect my generation’s normalcy was the 90s. Good times, the 90s. Good times. Le sigh.

  4. I’ve never actually read this one, it has been on my list for awhile. Great pick.

  5. Great book choice!

  6. One of my favorite books!

  7. I loved this book!

  8. Excellent choice! One of the defining books of my youth!

    • As it was mine. I had a cousin stay over once, he had it, I read his copy, then later on I read the rest of the series. Wonderful.

  9. I love The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.

  10. Well, it seems as though you have started the ball rolling this weekend with a universally popular book choice. I think that your quote is well chosen.

    • I’m glad to hear it’s universally popular; would that The Hitchhiker’s Guide were as popular as Twilight or those Fifty Shades books. Sigh.

  11. I knew it! I KNEW small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri were real small furry creatures from Alpha Centauri! πŸ™‚

  12. I started this book and then got too bush and had to put it down because I got too busy – I will try it again when things slow down here (and when we finish Dr. Who).

  13. I have to read this. Love the simplicity of the passage.

  14. I’d really love to read “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” πŸ˜€ I love this excerpt πŸ˜€ awesome quote πŸ˜€

  15. A must-read I have yet to touch. I need to pick it up. You’ve certainly whet my appetite to read it!

  16. It really was difficult. I think I may have given up. πŸ™‚ Nice choice!

  17. So cool,good choice:-)

  18. The world is right indeed.
    Great job!

  19. I loved that book! I read it so many times! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

