Skip to content

Problems of Espionage

by on March 3, 2013

I’ve unfortunately missed out on the past few Trifecta prompts, due to the demands of law school. It’s been tragic. Even if I did learn some fascinating things about Australian voting laws. Anyway. Things have slightly calmed down a bit, so here I am again with a story for Trifecta’s weekend prompt, which was to write 33 words in first-person narrative. I usually go for third-person omniscient, so this was a welcome change of pace. Roll film!

So I’m trying to decide which wire disarms the Kaboominator. My phone chirps. Marsha’s birthday. Crap. Forgot again. I’ll send flowers. Red, maybe. Wait. Red?  I reach to clip the red wire, and-

19 Comments
  1. Haha! “Kaboominator”! Brilliant. Love this so much. And what an ending! 😀

    • The Kaboominator’s one of the more fun weapons I’ve made up. I like to use it whenever I can. 🙂

  2. Distractions will get you every time. Funny twist.

  3. I have a very good friend named Marsha. Her favourite number is 69. She is a lot of fun and could easily prove to be a distraction, too. Good work on the prompt! It was lots of fun, too. 🙂

  4. kymminbarcelona permalink

    Oh no, fatal distraction!

  5. Did the kaboominator go off eh? I heard this loud noise and I can’t hear anything. lol Nice little ditty. annbennett2.blogspot.com

  6. KABOOM! goes the kaboominator . . . oh, my. 🙂

    • As Bugs Bunny once said, “Where’s the kaboom? There’s supposed to be an earth-shattering kaboom!”

  7. Draug419 permalink

    Never text and disarm. (:

  8. Ha! That’ll teach you to forget her birthday. Not that you’ll have much of a chance in the future, I suppose. Should’ve planned ahead… 🙂

    • The best laid plans of mice and men gang aft agley…or something like that. 🙂

  9. Ha!ha!Loved the open end-wonder if he cut the right one after all ;-)Well done!

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

