Skip to content

Mea Culpa

by on March 27, 2013

So, I was looking over my recent posts, and I realized that everything I’ve written lately has been short stories, either episodes of the Catrina Chronicles or responses to writing prompts like the Trifecta challenges. This isn’t a bad thing, exactly; writing the Catrina Chronicles is as fun as ever, and the Trifecta prompts have helped me experiment with micro-fiction. Usually I just sort of pour words out onto the page and never look back, thus explaining one memorable typo where I had my character shrieking “like a madwomen”, which was a neat trick for her. Trifecta’s word limits force me to go back and cut out excess verbiage and tighten up the plot, and still end up with a decent story, and that’s been educational no end. Still, I think once in a while I should do a post that isn’t a story, one where I’m doing the talking and not my characters, if you follow me. I haven’t commented on pop-culture in a while, for example. (Incidentally, I recently started Downton Abbey. Oh, that is an amazing show. I could rave about it all day. Or post innumerable Facebook statuses about it, which I’m sure my FB friends appreciate immensely. πŸ˜›Β  )

Anywho….so…what should I talk about? Hm. Well….they do say that confession is good for the soul, yes? As it turns out, there is something I haven’t told anyone, at least not in a long time. A dark secret that haunts me to this day. My friends, regretfully I must confess that…at one time in my life….I actually enjoyed Batman and Robin.Β 

In my defense, I was a kid at the time, it was the 90s, and I thought anyone in a superhero suit doing superpowered things was cool. My first memory of any television program was Power Rangers, because hey, robots and monsters and battles of good and evil! So one can see why I might be drawn towards Batman and Robin, and might think that it was a fairly good movie. I mean, hey, you’ve got Batman! And Robin! And explosions! And the Bat-Signal!Β  It was only later that I realized my mistake. Only later, as I grew up and, like St. Paul, put away childish things, that I realized that superhero movies aren’t just about explosions and capes. The really good ones require elements like, say, a plot. Or dialogue that has at least a smidge of cleverness. Or actors that actually act like really mature people instead of whiners like what’s his name that played Robin. Or a villain who’s played with a hint of depth, and who doesn’t feel the need to make a pun in every single line.

Of course, it does get worse. You see, not only did I like the movie….but I owned the novelization. Yes. There was a novelization of Batman and Robin. I don’t have it anymore. I think I threw it away, although I may have considered ritually burning it in the dark of the moon. On the bright side, I did eventually acquire a copy of Batman: No Man’s Land, a wonderful novelization of a riveting comics storyline involving the aftermath of an earthquake that hits Gotham. So I think I’ve redeemed myself somewhat. Still….at one point in my life, I actually liked that movie. Ye gods.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. You should blog about things that we might not understand about you. Your love of chicken nuggets (it’s chicken nuggets, isn’t it?), the slinky…uhhh…you know, other *mysterious things*. πŸ˜›

    Dunno, just throwing some ideas at you.

    But when I do click and read your blog, I like it. ❀

    • It is indeed chicken nuggets. And I have actually been backing off the slinky; as I believe you suggested once, slinkies and law school go not well together. So I have made some progress. I will definitely take your ideas to heart. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

