Skip to content

Memories

by on April 6, 2013

So, it’s time for me to do a little personal bit about myself again, instead of all the wacky characters I write about during the week. (Side note: I really do hope Rain escapes that volcano.)  Now, I’m not even going to get into the whole nature vs. nurture debate that I understand rages fiercely in academic circles, but I do think it’s fair to say that one’s childhood experiences can have an impact on one’s life. Today, I thought I’d share a few of my formative experiences, which might explain why my writing is the way it is.

1) The very first television show I ever remember watching was when I was in kindergarten. As it happens, I was homeschooled from mid-way through first grade all the way through high school, which incidentally means that I can legitimately claim to be the valedictorian of my high school graduating class. Anywho, I did attend public kindergarten, which required a bus ride. And so what would happen is that I would go over to a friend’s house in the mornings, and we would watch Power Rangers, and then catch the bus. I don’t remember much about Power Rangers, except that it involved people in brightly colored suits of armor battling it out against large monsters. Not unlike The Avengers, if you think about it….

2) The first computer I had was, if I remember right, a Tandy 1000. It had Windows 3.1. This was in the dark days of the Internet, a time of despair and woe, a time even before…the Start Button. Yes, in my day we didn’t have this start button thingamajig, no, we had to do things with File Manager. And we had to run computer games off floppy discs, which meant that if you put the floppy in the computer, say, upside-down, you might accidentally ruin the game. (Oops).

3) One of the first Disney movies I remember seeing was Aladdin. I mainly remember the blue and white Disney castle unfold at the beginning, the theme, and then the segue into “Arabian Nights.” Good movie.

4) I wasn’t too much into computer games, when we advanced beyond Windows 3.1 into the storied heights of Windows 95, but I did get some of the classics. Carmen Sandiego, for example. It was a happy moment when, late one night, I finally captured her in the ancient Mayan pyramids of Chichen Itza in Mexico. Good times. Incidentally, among other things I stopped her from stealing the entire city of Casablanca. You’re welcome, Casablanca.

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. I am forever grateful that you saved Casablanca

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

