Skip to content

Dreaming

by on April 12, 2013

This story was written for Trifecta’s weekend challenge, which was to write 33 words inspired by the following quote: “It’s the possibility of having a dream come true that makes life interesting.” ― Paulo CoelhoAlchemist.”  I went with another entry in the Volcano Rain series. William and Rain are just fun to write about. Roll film!

It was times like this, flying a shuttlecraft while a desperate volcano sacrifice candidate aimed a laser pistol at him, that William really regretted not pursuing his childhood dream of becoming a meteorologist.

From → 1. Volcano Rain

33 Comments
  1. Thrilling and hilarious.
    Well done!

  2. I really like the way you are taking the story forward with every prompt-well done:-)

  3. Funny! I’m picturing Shatner.

  4. Awesome. Although with his luck, that might turn out to be a dangerous occupation as well!

    • Good point. He’d probably get sent out to watch the tornadoes and get hit by an air cow, like in Twister.

  5. Ha! Poor William. Love this, particularly how it stands on its own. Well done!

    • Thanks! Yes, it’s certainly a pickle William has gotten himself into, and no mistake. 🙂

  6. Hahaha Love the wry humor. Go, William!

    • Wry humor is a fun genre to write. One of these Trifecta prompts, I’m going to try for serious and make everybody weep. 🙂

  7. Haha, if it’s not one thing, it’s another. Hopefully William get through this in one piece.

  8. Draug419 permalink

    yay, you managed a continuation for the weekend challenge! 😀 This is so great.

    • It’s hard to do a self-contained continuation in 33 words, but as a guy from that movie about the women’s baseball team said, the hard is what makes it great. 🙂

  9. Oh so cool to follow up with your previous story! And so very well done!

    😀 -> that’s me smiling after reading your take!

    • Thanks! One of these days I need to figure out how to make that emoticon; I can do the standard smiley-face, and the one that goes 😛 but I haven’t got that one yet.

      • the capital D makes the mouth rather than the closing bracket! 😀

  10. 😀 …. ahhhhh. Eureka! I’ve found it!

  11. childhood dreams come back to haunt – great job with this. 🙂

  12. Hahahaha! That would definitely make you want to rethink you’re choices! Excellent!

  13. Every little snippet I read here makes me wince in sympathy, for the most part 😛

  14. Great humor in this one! Regret has a way of sneaking in while in tough situations 🙂

  15. Is William insane? Meteorologists are never right!

    Thank you for making me LOL about dreams gone off course… I hope William survives this one! 😉

    • They really aren’t. I live in the Ohio Valley. I know this. And I’m pretty sure William survives. At least, I think he does. 🙂

  16. Doesn’t he know meteorologists are just as universally hated? This story gets better with each part.

    Thanks for linking up!

    • Good point. That may be why William gave up his childhood dream in the first place.

  17. Ha! Love the tone of this, and the entire unfolding story, for that matter. You convey a really excellent sense of humor in your writing.

    • Thanks; I think I must’ve been influenced by all the Douglas Adams stories I read when I was younger. And still read. The man was a genius.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

