Skip to content

Crashing

by on April 30, 2013

This story was written for Trifecta’s weekly prompt, and also continues the Volcano Rain series. Enjoy!

“Question,” William said, after several hours of awkward silence as the shuttlecraft glided through space towards the rebel colony on the moon. “We lost our left wing back there. How are you still flying this?”

Rain had been staring out at the stars, not really seeing them, but William’s question jerked her back. “It’s easy. I realigned the portside scransoms so their gravitic polarity  matrixed with the Palsgraf effect and reversed the destablization of the perimeter flange. Duh.”

“I don’t suppose you could translate that into English?”

“That was English. Didn’t they teach you anything when you went through Flight Academy?”

William scuffled his boots. “That door didn’t exactly open. I washed out, first term.  Crashed a skimmer into the headmaster’s flower garden.”

Rain’s mouth fell open in shock. “You were the Flower Garden Crasher? You were a legend! My Tactics instructor told us about that our first day. I had no idea!”

“I’m…a legend?” William wasn’t quite sure he wanted to be that sort of legend, but still, he was remembered. He had a legacy!

She almost laughed. “If my classmates could see me now. Meeting the Flower Garden Crasher. April would be so flippin’ jealous.” Then her face clouded. “I’m worried about her. No one’s ever not gone through with it. I don’t know what they’ll do.”

“I’m sure they’ll understand,” William ventured. “I’ve only served on the Committee for a bit, but they seemed like reasonable people. They’ve probable got alternates lined up, and…”

Just then the ship’s communicator spit out a terse message on a strip of paper. Rain grabbed for it and read it quickly. Then she closed her eyes. “You were right. They’re very reasonable people. They very reasonably decided to blow up my only sister as punishment for my escape. They made sure none of the other civilians in her area were harmed, though. Precision-targeted missile.” Her hand closed tightly around the paper.   “Very…reasonable.”

 

From → 1. Volcano Rain

34 Comments
  1. Ah, so the Committee took lessons from North Korea, very forward thinking of them. I get a happy feeling when these posts pop up, I really do love the story line and your writing style/skills flesh it out nicely. Thanks for an enjoyable break in an otherwise hectic day…you should Zazzle a t-shirt that says Team Rain 😉

    • I just might do that; if only I knew how to do a little stylized version of a volcano to go with it. 😀

  2. Rebekah Postupak permalink

    This is my first introduction to your Volcano Rain series–and I like it. What an engaging & compelling scene.

    • Welcome to the series! I’m glad you enjoyed it, even though the scene did end on a down note, Rain losing her sister and all. I’m hoping there’s a happy ending to make it up to her, but I really can’t say at this point. 🙂

  3. Hahaha! Crashing into a flower garden….good one! Poor guy- it would be rough to have that as your claim to fame (or infamy)!

    • It could be worse, I suppose. I’m not sure quite how, but it could be worse. 😛

  4. Scriptor Obscura permalink

    Looking forward to the next part. I can’t wait to see what happens next.

    • I can’t either. I’m just making it up as I go. And of course next weekend is the 33 word challenge, and that should be interesting.

  5. Psalsgraf effect…. But I like the way it moves.

    • You know, random thought inspired by your comment, the Palsgraf Effect would be a cool band name. I’m just saying. 🙂

  6. Love this series! And I love Rain’s response to William’s question at the beginning, especially the “Duh” at the end — too funny!

    • The weird thing is, what she said almost makes sense to me. I may have watched too much Star Trek. all those Jeffries tubes and transwarp conduits….:P

  7. Draug419 permalink

    I think Rain is pissed. Just saying 😉

    • I’d say she is too, yes. Just a bit. Being almost thrown to a volcano doesn’t exactly improve one’s mood.

  8. Very nice piece! Very interesting characters you have here.

  9. KymmInBarcelona permalink

    Hmm The jocularity turns dark.
    Love William as the famous flower garden crasher!

    • Random aside: whenever I read the word “jocularity”, I always think of Col. Potter imitating Father Mulcahy on M*A*S*H. “Jocularity! Jocularity!” 🙂
      Anyway. Thanks for the comment!

  10. They seem to be becoming friends already. I love the explanation about the wing and the reaction to the sister’s death. Rain is a woman on a mission.

    Thanks for linking up! Don’t forget to come back to vote!

    • She is indeed. What that mission will be, I’m not sure, but I’m sure vengeance will be involved somewhere. Something tells me you don’t want to make Rain mad.

  11. To be a garden crasher is quite a legacy….

  12. That’s the trouble with Committees – no soul.
    Great story.

  13. I really like this series. Judging from the techno-babble I’m guessing you are a star trek fan, but … I dunno…. I’m also getting a definite feel of another sci-fi show in this …. I may be wrong but there’s a tiny radar echo in my brain..

  14. I like this series. Judging from the techno-babble and one or two comments, I’m guessing you’re a star trek fan, but … I dunno… I’m also getting a definite feel of another sci-fi show here. I may be wrong (don’t hesitate to correct me if I am) but there’s a tiny radar echo sounding in my brain …

    • I am indeed a Trek fan; I’m also a fan of Firefly and Star Wars, and I’ve been meaning to watch Babylon Five for some time, so I’m sure those may have influenced my sci-fi writing…

  15. I feared something like this would happen to April-sigh!Loved the fun part about William ^& the dialogues between him & Rain-I smell a probable romantic angle, ooh la ,la!:-)

  16. Can’t wait for the next installment. I love Rain’s techinal know-how and the Flowet Garden Crasher. Classic.

    • The next one will be Monday or Tuesday, as I went a different direction with this weekend’s challenge. Somehow, a superhero origin story didn’t quite fit….:P

  17. Beautifully complete, compact story, I really liked it. LM x

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

