Skip to content

Shiny Happy People

by on May 21, 2013

This story was written for Trifecta’s weekly prompt, and continues the Volcano Rain series. Enjoy!

“This is it,” Winifred said, sliding open the door. “My place. What do you think?” She looked anxiously at Rain and William, as if worried they wouldn’t approve.

Rain hadn’t quite expected this. She took in the light yellow walls scattered with daisies, and the cheery pop music playing from tastefully hidden speakers. “Shouldn’t this be more dark? I mean, it doesn’t exactly fit your theme.”

“Well, I could’ve gone with skulls and ominous Latin chanting or something, but I kinda thought that was pedantic. Being the incarnation of Death doesn’t mean I have to be emo about it. I wanted a place that would be fun and exciting! At least…” and her voice faltered a bit, “That was the idea. The wall daisies may have been a bit much.”

“It’s very nice,” William ventured, and Winifred smiled gratefully at him. A fluffy white cat emerged from behind a sofa, blinked at the visitors, and then archly turned its back on them.

“Hey, cat,” Rain said, kneeling to pet it. The cat received her attentions with studious disdain. As Rain ran her hand over its soft fur, her eye fell on a small framed photograph on the wall, next to one of the daisies. “Who’s this guy?”

“Oh,” Winifred said, her face coloring. “That’s, um, Phil. He’s a volcano spirit. He’s…well, we’ve… um…we’ve been out together a few times and I think he’s interested but I’m not sure because he hasn’t replied to my last text and it’s been almost a whole day and I’m getting worried and-”

Rain stood up abruptly, forgetting the cat. “Wait. Go back. Phil’s a volcano spirit?”
“Well, yeah…”

“I want to meet him.”

“Now?” Winifred said in confusion. “But you’ve only just arrived, and I think Phil’s working today-”

Now.”

From → 1. Volcano Rain

14 Comments
  1. Interesting development. I love that Winifred’s house is the opposite of what one would expect. Trying to imagine a wall of daisies. Yeah. Might be a little too happy!

    • I was actually trying to fit this into the last prompt, in that Winifred wouldn’t be riding a pale horse but rather a pony named Miss Honey Sparkle, but it didn’t quite work. So I went with Camille instead. And yeah, a wall of daisies might be a bit much. Then again, my room has plastic glow-in-the-dark stars across the ceiling, so what do I know? 😀

  2. Love your description of Winifred’s place! Great details. And I love how hesitant Winifred is. So very un-Death-like. And dating a volcano spirit. This story is so much fun Michael! It gives me the same feelings I get when I read something by Douglas Adams.

  3. Draug419 permalink

    It’s all about connections and friends-of-friends 😀

  4. If Death is this chipper, I can only imagine what a volcano spirit must be like!

    Thank you for linking up! Please don’t forget to come back to vote!

    • I can’t quite imagine it yet, but I’m hoping I will for the weekend prompt…:P

  5. ‘doesn’t mean I have to be emo about it’ – awesome 😉 …if she’s not careful, Rain may have competition with Winifred for my favorite character here. This was a great little stand alone piece and left me already excited to meet Phil.

    • I’m excited about him as well. I think getting a volcano spirit’s perspective on the whole sacrificing thing will be quite helpful! 😀

  6. Lance permalink

    You did a lot with dialogue here. I like the rhythym and the story development. Good work as always

    • The next few stories will probably have more action, I’m sure, and less dialogue. Glad you enjoyed it!

  7. Love Winifred’s character – so sweet.

    • Apparently there’s an old Bach song that begins “Come, sweet death…” somehow I don’t think Winifred’s what he meant. 😀

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

