Skip to content

Thor Realz

by on June 22, 2013

Well, this weekend’s Trifecta story is entered, and I’m planning for Monday’s Catrina story, so since we’re in-between stories, as it were, I thought I’d take a moment to explain a couple of things I’m going to do with the Catrina Chronicles. The first thing comes from three different sources (it’s weird the way my mind works, it really is).  First, I’ve made it a practice with Catrina to include randomly contributed elements, usually solicited from my friends on Facebook and elsewhere. For instance, I wrote several episodes in which I included random lines from songs, submitted to me by friends, which I wrote down on slips of paper and put in a hat. I then pulled a paper from the hat for each story, and wrote it based on that. It got Catrina into some very interesting situations, let me tell you.  However, I am, at the moment, out of random lines. So I was trying to think of a random element I could do. 

Then I read a post by Suzanne at Apoplectic Apostrophes, in which she introduced a new Vocabulary Series, wherein she plans to present posts discussing words for each letter of the alphabet, such as, appropriately, apostrophe. And I thought, hey, that’s neat and fun! And then I did a calculation with my cellphone’s calendar application, and discovered that, excluding the weeks of Christmas and New Year’s Eve, there are twenty-six Mondays left in the year. And I do a Catrina story every Monday. Suddenly, it all came together.

So. For the remaining twenty-six Mondays of the year, I’m going to do a Catrina story themed on each letter of the alphabet. I shall include at least one word starting with the pertinent letter in each post, though I can use more than one, if suggested. So far I have one A-word for Monday’s post, contributed via Facebook. And, speaking of Monday’s post, I think it’s time to explain about Mlrning (the Shovel of Thor).

Mlrning originated, as so many things do, on NaNoWriMo, especially the NaNoWriMo forums on the eponymous website. There’s a particular thread devoted to recounting typos (it is one of the most hilarious threads ever), and in September of last year fellow NaNo-er WrittenWord posted about a certain typo they’d had, where they had meant to discuss their character’s morning, but instead wrote mlrning. I thought, and I think I commented on this at the time, that Mlrning sounded like the Shovel of Thor.  The rest is history. 🙂

Since then Catrina has been searching for Mlrning (the Shovel of Thor!) , and it looks like she might finally get her hands on it next week. To that end, I’ve been thinking about the Shovel itself, and what powers it might entail. A knowledgeable friend on Facebook suggested that it might have powers to, say, create an entire world from a single scoop of dirt. Naturally it’ll have power over snow and ice, and whatever else one might use a shovel to scrape off one’s driveway. It’s not square-shaped, it’s more the kind of shovel  And since it’s an Asgardian shovel, I thought it should have an inscription.  Like the one on Thor’s hammer Mjolnir.

I considered the question for some time.  I knew inspiration would come eventually. And then, suddenly, like a whisper in the Force, it did. “Whosoever holds this shovel, if he be worthy, shall never be Thor in the morning.” 
BAM said the lady.  That was it. Now, I don’t know how that might be translated into epic Viking runes, like the inscription on Thor’s hammer. I shall have to do research on that. At any rate, that plot problem is pretty well solved. On Monday we’ll see how it works out. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. 26 Mondays, 26 letters…must be a sign 🙂 Looking forward to seeing what you do with the story!

  2. with complete and utter writerly affection, your sense of humor is so ridiculously dorkish and awesome…

    • As Mr. Monk would say, it’s a gift….and a curse. 😀 (Actually, I’m not sure what the curse part of a dorky sense of humor would be, but I’ll think on it.)

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

