Skip to content

Man of Steel: a Review

by on June 29, 2013

So I’ve done a few movie reviews in the past, like The Hunger Games, The Avengers, and Star Trek: Into Darkness, though that was less of a review and more of a philosophical discussion about the Prime Directive. (I still don’t like it. And I’m still a fan of Sisko. Though I’m becoming more of a fan of Janeway, especially since I learned she was born in Bloomington, Indiana. We Hoosiers have to stick together).

Back on topic, I finally was able to see the Superman movie this afternoon.

….

Wow.

I repeat, wow.

I’ve had the experience twice this year, where I saw a movie, loved it at the time, and later found myself slightly disappointed. I didn’t like the thing Iron Man 3 did with the Mandarin, and Star Trek woefully underused the Klingons, and Khan.  But…I’m not disappointed in the Man of Steel movie. Holy Zod, it was brilliant.  Beats the Brandon Routh version right out of the park, and, I dare say, ranks up there with the Christopher Reeve movies. (The first two, anyway. Let us never speak of Superman IV.)

I mean, I don’t even know where to begin. Let’s start at the very beginning (a very good place to start). Krypton. One thing I had about the earlier Krypton depictions was it always seemed so…antiseptic. All frozen ice and spires and such. You wondered what the Kryptonians did all day except hang around with their shiny crystals. But here, Krypton lives. Jor-El and Lara put such passion into their roles, and there’s some key bits about Krypton’s society, and you really get a feel for the scope and tragedy of the thing, as Ron Weaseley once said in a less serious context.
And then of course there’s the rest of the movie. The hilarious thing with the truck at the diner. (Note: you never want to pick a fight with Clark Kent in a diner. That didn’t work out well in Superman II, and it doesn’t here). Lois Lane. Perry White. The guy that plays Eliot Stabler on Law and Order: SVU, who in this movie is a really cool Army colonel guy. The LexCorp logo on the trucks in the big fight scene. The blink-and-you’ll-miss-it Wayne Enterprises logo on the satellite. The bit with the handcuffs. Jonathan and Martha Kent, and the dog. Even Superman’s various powers are handled nicely. (They don’t do the super-breath or the memory-wiping kiss thing, which is for the best). I could go on and on, but really, this is a wonderful movie. I intend to go see it again. Maybe even three times. I doubt I’ll be able to see it as often as I did The Dark Knight, as that was in the days before law school. But still. Best superhero movie since the Avengers.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Yay! I am so glad you weren’t disappointed – I certainly wasn’t! I agree on the antiseptic Krypton front, definitely, it was great to see that society and culture really LIVE… Only to watch it reach its inevitable end due to stubborn leaders. I thought all the acting was fabulous too, and the bit with the truck actually made me chuckle out loud. Something I also thought was really good was the fact that they portrayed Kal-El (to give him his real name) as slightly vulnerable emotionally, to balance his physical invulnerability. How he went into that church and said he wasn’t sure who to trust. It made him more…. real, I suppose.
    Finally, I am going to have to watch it again to catch the logo. I was rather distracted…!!!! 😉

    • I only knew to look for the logo because I’d seen an article on it a while back. Even then I’d forgotten about it until I saw the big “Lexcorp” signs on the trucks Superman and Zod smash around. But yeah, in that big of a movie, it’s easy to get distracted. 🙂
      And I agree, the emotional part worked well too. The scene with him as a child in the classroom trying to adjust to his powers and going in the closet, that was very well done. Especially when it was referenced later when Zod comes to Earth and has trouble adjusting. The whole movie was just…real. It’s hard to make a “real” movie about a flying man in tights with super-strength and laser eyes, but they succeeded. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

