Skip to content

Conscientious

by on August 8, 2013

This story was written, just in time, for Trifecta’s weekly prompt, and is a continuation of my Third Little Pig story arc. Enjoy!

Prince Evinrude’s conscience was quite clear as he ran pell-mell down the corridor. It was perfectly ethical what he had done. He hadn’t abandoned the Third Little Pig to the tender mercies of the giant snake that had once been Aurora. No, he had merely conducted a strategic retreat, allowing him to summon assistance.

He knew exactly whom to ask: the redoubtable Woodsman Corps, slayer of wolves, snakes, and rogue giants alike. Was it his fault that Corps headquarters was some distance away, far too late for them to arrive in time to save the pig? Certainly not. Unfortunate, true,  but all too common these days. He’d be sure to organize a proper memorial, with a statue and everything.

He was just working out what he would say at the dedication when a tiny version of himself suddenly poofed into being on his shoulder. It wore a glowing white robe, and had a nearly microscopic halo shimmering around its head.  Its voice sounded awfully like his own, if somewhat squeakier. “Your argument’s a bit weak, you know,” it said. “You’re the prince, aren’t you? It’s your responsibility to go back there and help.”

“But,” Evinrude protested. “I’m the last surviving member of my house! If I die, my kingdom could fall into turmoil! There could be civil war!”

“You’re forgetting Princess Genevieve. She could take your place if necessary.”

“But Genevieve is…well…”

“A girl?” Evinrude’s shoulder angel replied archly.

“A tree, actually. She had that quarrel with the Dryad last year, remember?”

“Oh, right. Someone should work on that. Well, you’ve still got your magic sword, haven’t you?”

Evinrude had forgotten the sword. Some random lady in a pond had thrown it at him a while back. “Doesn’t it only work on dragons?”

“Snakes, dragons, same thing.”

The prince sighed, turned round, and drew his sword. “Why do you get me into these things?” he asked his conscience. His conscience only sniffed, and didn’t reply.

18 Comments
  1. I’ve probably missed some Three Little Pig episodes, but I still feel that I can drop in & enjoy them now and then even so … as I did with this one! 🙂

    • I try to write serials such that they can be enjoyed that way….though it’s harder to do with Catrina. 😀

  2. Draug419 permalink

    I like the snakes-dragons logic. Very cute.

  3. Unique story angle each time – I’m so enjoying this series! So fun and really good writing :)))

    • Thanks! I’m glad you’re enjoying this, I’m having fun with it myself. Serials are interesting to do. 🙂

  4. I’m glad his conscience kicked in. Running away was a jerky thing to do. And chicken, too 🙂

  5. You make me believe in this world you’ve created. And enjoy every minute of it.

    • Thanks! I’m glad it’s somewhat believable, with all the talking pigs and snake-princesses and so forth…

  6. You spin gold from these prompts, buddy. Well done!

  7. KymmInBarcelona permalink

    Oh those pesky consciences, poofing into being. lol
    Love “microscopic halo”, “all too common these days”, snakes, dragons, same thing”
    Thank you for making me laugh.

    • You’re quite welcome. That’s my main goal in writing, I think: making people laugh. There’s too much serious in the world, sometimes….

  8. snakes and dragons are both serpents… perfectly reasonable logic in my book. 😉

  9. Those watery bints are tossing swords willy-nilly these days

    • Which is precisely why they can’t be trusted as a source for supreme executive power.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

