Skip to content

Saturday Musings

by on August 10, 2013

The Council of Elrond scene in “The Fellowship of the Ring” book (not the movie) is one of my favorite literary moments. Incidentally, I don’t particularly care for the Jackson movie adaptations. To some extent, I’m a bit of a purist about those things. I just don’t envision Frodo as Elijah Wood, or Aragorn as Viggo Mortenson, or Legolas as Orlando Bloom. Definitely not Orlando Bloom. They cut out so much too: Glorfindel, and Tom Bombadil, and all the good songs. I realize some stuff had to be cut out, and as movies go it’s fairly well done, but still.

Needless to say, there will probably never be a Catrina Chronicles movie in real life, even if the remarkable chance comes that a producer would actually be interested. I couldn’t bear it. I have a picture of Catrina in my head; I know what she looks like, what she sounds like, what she thinks like. I wouldn’t want someone else trying to put on what they thought Catrina was. It wouldn’t be real. Same thing with any of my characters: Rain, Gaseous Girl, Captain Happily Married, even the Third Little Pig. I like them too much for Hollywood to get hold of them.

That being said, were Joss Whedon to be interested, I’d sign over the rights that minute. And if Jennifer Lawrence were to ask to play Catrina, I think I could manage to deal with my disillusionment about differing character portrayals. Somehow. 😀

 

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. I have thought the same about my writings, but maybe if I made a cartoon series about Scouts Out (http://aaforringer.com/2012/09/10/chapter-1-2/), or on that Universe I have created in my head, now that I could envision.

    I am working with a person trying just to get the cover art of Scouts Out just right before I e-publish is very hard, and I wonder how much I will like the finished project, I figure if I am 85% happy I will use it.

    I am a huge fan of Clive Cussler and followed closely the angst and difficulties the fans went thru before the made the Dirk Pitt -Sahara movie, with Matthew McConhaey (sp?)

    I feel your pain. 🙂

    • My dad’s a Clive Cussler fan; I was more of a Tom Clancy guy myself. But I’m glad you get my pain. 🙂

  2. I tell you what, I enjoy those movies but when they left out Tom Bombadil I was really disappointed. He may not have a huge story arc but he is one of my absolute favorite characters in LOTR.

    • Mine too. I even memorized the song he taught Frodo to call him. “Ho, Tom Bombadil, Tom Bombadillo….” That’s good stuff. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

