Skip to content

Post-Saturday Musings

by on August 25, 2013

Technically I should’ve done this yesterday, but the Big Announcement has thrown my world a-kilter. You probably know all this by now, dear readers, but in case you hadn’t heard, Ben “My Last Superhero Movie was Daredevil” Affleck has been cast as Batman.

Ben Affleck.

Batman.

Oy.

By now, of course, a good many Batman fans across the Internet have expressed their rightful outrage at this pick. Whereupon the Ben Affleck defenders came back with counter-arguments, and so on, and so forth, ad infinitum, ad nauseum.

I notice the arguments in favor of Batfleck tend to focus on two points. 1) the fans were outraged over Michael Keaton, and that worked out. 2) Ben Affleck is, well, Ben Affleck. He directed Argo and some other movies, and he’s Turned His Career Around. Also apparently he wants to direct Justice League, or Warner Brothers wants him to direct Justice League, and he wouldn’t do it unless he got to play Batman. Or so I hear.

Well. Yes, Michael Keaton worked out, maybe, though I’m hardly convinced that his was the defining performance of Batman. He couldn’t even move his neck, for crying out loud. And, as I recall, he killed people. Batman does not kill. That was pretty well established, I thought. But, secondly, even if Michael Keaton worked out better than the fans thought, does that mean WB should completely ignore our concerns? We’re the ones who’ll be paying the ticket prices and marching into the theatres to see this thing (maybe); I should think we merit a little consideration, instead of, “Shut up, he explained”.

And Ben Affleck may be a very good director and actor. But so was George Clooney. That worked out well, didn’t it?

I don’t know. Maybe I’m wrong, and if Ben Affleck turns out to be the most epic Batman ever, I will gladly eat my metaphorical hat. But…I don’t like it. Now the story about the next Batman/Superman movie is all about BEN AFFLECK instead of Batman. And that, I think, is my real worry here, that he didn’t get the part because he’s a good fit for it, he got it because he’s BEN AFFLECK.

Ah, well. Back to Marvel.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

