Skip to content

Falling

by on September 14, 2013

This story was written for Trifecta’s weekend prompt, which was to include an apostrophe: “A figure of speech in which some absent or nonexistent person or thing is addressed as if present and capable of understanding.”  I found myself returning to the story in last weekend’s prompt. Enjoy!

There were things Constance didn’t like. Carrots. Soccer. Ben, her loathsome squid ex-boyfriend. But she just hated gravity. “Darn you, gravity!” she screamed, plummeting towards the treasure chamber floor. “Darn you to heck!”

15 Comments
  1. Treasure chamber intrigues me. Want more of the story…

    • I’m glad it’s intriguing! I do plan to do more of the story, as it happens…:)

  2. This is funny.. I hope it was meant that way.. loathsome squid ex-boyfriend.. that’s imaginative! At least she’s falling to a ‘treasure chamber.’ What delights might await? If she doesn’t break anything. I like it. 🙂

    • It definitely was meant to be funny, so I’m happy it worked out that way. 🙂

  3. Haha! I can see why she would hate gravity while in a free fall 🙂

  4. Oh gosh, I want to know how she got to this point! I can totally understand her despising gravity right now, though. 🙂

    • I think the immediate cause was her tether snapping. As to her backstory, I haven’t the slightest idea yet. 😛

  5. Oh, I feel the same way. Gravity makes me drop things.

    Fun take on the prompt!

    best,
    MOV

  6. That cursed gravity. Gets you every time. Great take on the prompt Michael! 😀

  7. KymmInBarcelona permalink

    The things you think about while plummeting! Lol
    squid ex-boyfriend. Glad I don’t have one of those to hate.

  8. Momo permalink

    This was fun to read! I like the phrase loathsome squid ex-boyfriend.

  9. Gravity is just the worst thing. The absolute worst.
    This is funny! Thank you for linking up!

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

