Skip to content

True Love

by on December 16, 2013

This week’s Trifecta prompt was to write 33 words to make the editors laugh out loud, and spread some festive cheer. I consulted my muse. And a particular Christmas song leaped to mind.  😀

“Bill? Sarah. Listen, I appreciate the thought, but … NO. MORE. BIRDS. Partridges. Turtledoves! I – wait. Someone’s at the door.”

….

Honestly. Milkmaids? I don’t have a cow, Bill! We’re through, you hear me? THROUGH.”

 

From → Uncategorized

33 Comments
  1. This is fantastic!

  2. Your sense of humor cracks me up, At least the golden rings, those are useful (read: sell them on eBay to buy something you really want!)

    • I’ve heard, though, that the golden rings actually refer to gold markings on the necks of pheasants. Which means. …MORE BIRDS.

  3. Aw, she should have at least waited for 9-12, then it would have been a party! 😉 Great work!

    • I’m not sure she’d appreciate a bunch of drummers and pipers milling about, though… 😛

  4. Oh just wait.. the rings will be coming…

    • Assuming that the rings are actually rings, and not references to the gold markings on the necks of a certain type of pheasants, as one theory goes…

  5. Haha! I’ve written an upcoming blog post about the crappy presents featured in this song too. Who wants a bunch of @#*$& birds?!

    A fun read. Great job!

    • You might want birds if you’re an ornithologist, maybe, but otherwise….yeah.

  6. Speaking as a married man, I thought this was particularly funny in the way that husbands and wives miscommunicate and even the best intentions can turn out to be hilarious mistakes. Thanks for writing it 😀

  7. Perfect! Too bad there is no line about “And a shiny new Ferrari.” Great take on the prompt!

    best,
    MOV

    • That would be a nice gift. Alas, the true love’s apparently gone all in for the birds…

  8. I’ve been debating writing a bit of humour about this song…I love what you’ve done with it!

    • It’s a good song to make fun of, other than the Christmas Shoes, that is. Which is next on my list. 😀

      • Bryan Ens permalink

        you’ve actually given me the inspiration I needed to write a poof on “12 Days”. Check it out if you want at quest4peas.wordpress.com (The 12 Haiku of Christmas)

  9. Is it really so bad? I mean lots of those birds are pretty tasty. Anyway, those five gold rings oughta make up for the trouble. 😉

  10. Well, the five golden rings were probably nice. Unless she wears silver. 😉

    Nice work!

    • If not, she can sell ’em on eBay and maybe get enough to cart away the birds. 🙂

  11. lol. That is too funny. 🙂

  12. Funny. I think all those birds would freak me out. LOL ♥

  13. Hahaha Best case I’ve ever heard for regifting!

  14. Ha! I love Frank Kelly’s version of this. Look it up if you haven’t heard it.

  15. Hahaha! Awesome. Maybe Sarah should get a dog?

    • In place of the birds, or Bill? 😀

      • I was thinking to eat all those birds, but the great thing about dogs is it would make a nice replacement for Bill too. 😉

  16. I give Bill an A for effort. Beats some of the gifts out there, I suppose. 🙂 Thanks for linking up and putting a smile on my face this morning.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

