Skip to content

Resolution

by on December 30, 2013

For this week’s Trifecta prompt, we were asked for our New Year’s resolutions, in only three words. This year promises to be a momentous one for me personally, for a number of reasons, I’m graduating from law school, taking the bar exam, beginning Doctor Who and Babylon Five….at any rate, this phrase came to mind.

See the mountains.

Now, you might take that as some sort of metaphorical reference to the Sound of Music, climbing every mountain and fording every stream like the Oregon Trail computer game all over again, and in some respects it is, but it’s also literal. I have never seen the mountains. That is to say, I haven’t seen really big mountains. I live in Southern Indiana; we have the occasional bit of hill, but not like that. I’ve driven through the Appalachians in Eastern Kentucky and West Virginia, and those are very nice and picturesque, but I’ve never been out west, to the Rockies. I want to see peaks. Colorado. All that. The proverbial “Go West, young man” has a certain ring to it. Plus, hey, after three years of intense legal study and agonization, road trip!

Anyway. There it is. 2013 has been an interesting year. 2014 promises to be even more so.

 

From → Uncategorized

30 Comments
  1. I grew up in Tennessee, in the foothills of the Smoky Mountains. Living in Florida now, and I miss the mountains every day.

    • I would like to explore the Smokies and Appalachians and all more than I have; mostly I’ve just driven through on the way to somewhere else, like North Carolina and whatnot. And I dearly want to see some of the battlefields, like Chickamauga.

  2. Walk the mountains πŸ™‚

  3. Well, congratulations on your continuing and upcoming awesomeness πŸ™‚ I think that’s an excellent resolution to have- it’s nice to see someone get out of their own head and have something real to look forward to. Where are you gonna start with Doctor Who?!? The older ones are great if you’re into that, but if you start with the newest reboot, I humbly suggest you don’t skip the oft overlooked Christopher Eccleston episodes πŸ™‚

    • I’ve been told by multiple sources that I should indeed start with the Christopher Eccelston episodes in 2005. “Rose”, specifically, was the episode title I was given. Of course, I only know Eccelston as Malekith, so far, so this should be interesting. πŸ˜€

  4. right outside my office window πŸ™‚

  5. I’m lucky to live in Washington state where I see, and am awed, by mountains every day. Do “go west, young man.” You will not be disappointed! And congrats on your upcoming achievements!

  6. Kir Piccini permalink

    ROAD TRIP!
    Sounds like an amazing way to spend 2014, an amazing start to a new chapter of a life.
    Hoping you see all you want to see and then share it with us.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR

  7. they are beautiful

  8. I love the mountains!

  9. 2014 is going to e a big year for you! I hope you get to see the mountains (the Rockies are beautiful πŸ™‚ )

  10. Momo permalink

    Road trip indeed! The mountains await you.

  11. debseeman permalink

    Come to Wyoming and I’ll give you the residents tour. πŸ™‚

  12. I love the way I read your resolution. Kind of like seeing the forest (despite the trees).
    Much good luck to you, and I hope you make it to the mountains. Happy 2014, Michael!

  13. There are a lot of mountains to see. Let’s hope you conquer some of them in 2014. Happy New Year.

  14. Love this. Colorado’s gorgeous. I also high recommend the ones around Lake Tahoe. πŸ™‚

  15. Awesome. I would love to do that too!!

  16. Road trip, sounds great. Have fun.

  17. Awesome choice of words! The first time I saw the coastal mountains of British Columbia, I was speechless. Enjoy those mountains! πŸ™‚

  18. I am with you about the Rockies. I live in Virginia and can see White Top and Mount Rogers from my home. They are both in the 4500-5000 foot range, but I really would love to see and visit the Rockies. I do not really expect it to be during 2014, but definitely something on my Bucket List.

  19. Good luck on your Bar exam and congrats on completing your studies. I think that you have made an excellent resolution. The time to travel and explore is right now in your life. Real life…jobs, mortgages, family obligations….all await so, while you have the freedom to do so, go and see the world! You won’t regret it. There is beauty and wonder everywhere. Have fun. Happy New Year.

  20. Sounds like this will be a banner year for you. (I’m so proud of myself for resisting the urge to make some pun about you “reaching a new peak in your life.”)

    Happy 2014! πŸ™‚

  21. I love the mountains out here in Oregon. They’re like a child’s drawing of mountains – pointy snow-covered tops and all. πŸ™‚ Great resolution – both in the literal and the figurative sense! Happy New Year!

  22. Excellent! You won’t be disappointed. Happy New Year.

  23. Well..that’s a great one2…
    I live in Florida..no Mountains here..only flat land beaches..and even fewer dunes after several hurricanes..
    I really wanna see mountains..2 i guess that’s another one for my
    bucket list:)

  24. I’m singing with you as “you climb every mountain”. Here’s to a wonderful 2014 πŸ™‚

  25. A wise plan to get a break and inspiration in one road trip. It’s amazing the things we put off because life gets in the way. I’m looking at similar things in terms of doing things I’ve only thought of in the past. I hope you enjoy the view! πŸ™‚

  26. I love this. I live here in southwest Virginia in the heart of the Appalachians. I am wanting to take a road trip across country to visit all the states and sites along the way. The Rocky Mountains………… and end up in California. I’ve been up and down the east coast. So, an adventure west is on my agenda. Hope 2014 brings you a lot of adventures.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Trifecta’s Three Word New Year’s Resolution Collection | e.g.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

