Skip to content

Mystery

by on April 7, 2014

“So it was you, Lord Covington,” Baxendale cried, “who murdered Daphne Fairservice!”

“Impossible!” he said. “I was vacationing in the Spanish mountains, during that terrible rainstorm!”

She smiled. “You couldn’t have. You see, the rain in Spain stays mainly in the plain.”

***

This is my response to the weekly Gargleblaster challenge, which was to answer, in exactly 42 words, the question: “Who dunnit?”  This is what my muse gave me. Peculiar creature, my muse.

 

From → Uncategorized

17 Comments
  1. Kir Piccini permalink

    who says a good history of musicals like “My Fair Lady” isn’t helpful in solving mysteries?
    LOVED IT! 😉

  2. GROAN – a pun – oh yes strange muse

  3. I’m becoming quite fond of your muse. 🙂 I’m trying to go to bed, but this dropped into my inbox at the last moment and had me literally laughing out loud. It’s an absolutely delightful piece of writing. Thank you!

  4. The rain in Spain line killed me 😉

  5. Your muse needs a coffee warning.

  6. Oops! Busted by saying too much (that never happens, right? 🙂 )

  7. jenbrunett permalink

    ha! clever, lol

  8. Fun! I loved how you set up the ending.

  9. Clever! I love it. Great names, and the dialogue sounds just like in a classic who-dunnit movie. The last line is just wonderful.

  10. HA! Nicely done. 🙂

  11. It was a pleasure to meet your muse.

  12. Christine permalink

    BWA HAHAHA! I have to admit – I didn’t look to see which link I clicked, but as soon as I read the first line I knew it was you. I absolutely love your sense of humor and the absurd. 🙂

  13. That is so true! Good job, I love a good joke.

  14. Your muse is peculiar indeed!

  15. shailajav permalink

    HA HA HA 😀 Loved this take. Seems unfair that I only get 3 votes this time 🙂

    ~Shailaja’s post

  16. Hahaha! My mother used to say that all the time. Well played, Michael’s muse. 😉

  17. Ha! Laughed out loud at this! 😉

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

