Skip to content

A Thought

by on April 23, 2014

I regret that I will not be able to take part in the Speakeasy challenge this week, much as I would like to. I’ve also been remiss in commenting and reading other people’s posts. I only barely managed to get an entry into the Gargleblaster challenge. Poor Hadley is stuck on a spaceship as a horde of terror bunnies flies towards her, with her only defense being Captain K’Pid and the BFG, and I’ve left her in dire straits. But, you see, I’m in law school; in fact I’m nearly done, and classes ended just last Monday. I’ve got papers due this week, and exams next, and then a short breathing space before….*ominous pause*….THE BAR EXAM.  So. My time has, alas, been limited.

On the bright side, I did finally get around to watching “Frozen” this past weekend. Very clever movie. It had a great many subversions of classic Disney cliches. I won’t reveal them all, as some of them are spoilery but I did want to discuss one interesting twist. It relates to That Song.

You know the one.

“Let it gooooo, let it gooooo….that perfect girl is gooooone….”

Now, I admit, I first heard it when “Adele Dazeem” sung it at the Oscars. I assumed, given its popularity, that it was the standard Disney “I Want” song. As in “I want much more than this provincial life,” or, “I want to be where the people are….”   And the lyrics sounded like the usual Disney themes of following your heart, being true to yourself, etc., etc., things Mulan and Belle and Ariel have been singing about for years. 

The thing is, in context though, it’s actually the opposite of the Follow Your Heart theme. Because while Elsa is singing and happily making ice castles and frozen fractals and talking snowmen and such, her actions have a very real consequence for the people of Arendelle. When Elsa “lets it go”, her kingdom gets plunged into endless winter, just like in Narnia. Now, granted, keeping her powers and herself completely locked away wasn’t good either, but even so….you don’t get too many Disney songs that point out that Following Your Heart isn’t always the best solution in every circumstance. You’d find that life lesson more often in things like the Red Wedding in Game of Thrones. Very clever. I just thought I’d mention that.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Sorry we’ll miss your creativity on Speakeasy, but WOW, you have a lot going on! Good luck with all your papers and exams.

    I haven’t seen Frozen. My older son saw it on a school field trip and I never got around to taking my younger son. I guess it will be on Netflix eventually and I’ll get to see it (and no one will be talking about it by then…)

  2. Lyssa Medana permalink

    Hi, I logged on to let you know that Thomas Marlowe and me had come up with an idea to try and put something in the gap left by Trifecta, and would you like to take part. Looking at your last entry, I think you have enough on your plate. If you ever get down time ever again, please look over at http://lightandshadechallenge.blogspot.co.uk/ as we would love to have you there. Good luck with the bar entries. I worked as a court clerk years ago and if some of the numpties I dealt with passed you should sail through. Lyssa Medana x

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

