Skip to content

Eclectic

by on June 6, 2014

Every so often I try to do a personal sort of post in between the various adventures of Hadley, Constance, Rain, Prince Evinrude, Catrina, Captain Happily Married, and the whole crowd.  Unfortunately, I don’t have any particularly stirring anecdotes. I am going through a bar review course, in preparation for taking the Bar Exam of Doom in July, and it’s somewhat stressful. We go to law school for three years, learn a ton of things (seriously, I have whole binders full of notes. Bins and bins full.), we take multiple three or four hour class exams, and then, at the end of it all, everything is telescoped into one two-month review course, followed by one two-day, 13-hour exam. The good news: the exam is basically pass/fail. You get one point above passing: you win. Huzzah!  The bad news: you get one point below the Magic Number, and you are out of luck, pal.  So. Not stressful at all.

I could go on, but hey, let’s take music. I have, shall we say, a varied musical taste. There’s some areas of which I am completely ignorant. For some years I assumed Pink was a brand of clothing, primarily in the sweatpants line; apparently she’s a singer. I do not know her work. I know maybe one country song, “Jolene”, and that’s because I heard it over the speakers during a childhood visit to Dolly Parton’s theme park. I don’t know the songs of Macklemore, Beyonce, or Lady Gaga. I couldn’t tell you who’s on the charts nowadays.  I know a few Katy Perry songs, mainly because Firework was in Madagascar 3.

So, you probably ask yourself. “Michael”, you say, “what sort of songs do you listen to?”  Well, as I’m an avid consumer of what you might call nerd culture, my mix CDs are populated by nerd-culture songs. For instance, here is one of my newly discovered favorites. It is from “The Runaway Bride,” the Christmas special at the beginning of the third series of Doctor Who.

Catchy.  On that same note, I am extraordinarily fond of movie-soundtrack music. Particularly if it’s very epic, in minor key, and has ominous chanting. For instance, again from Doctor Who, (I discovered this show early this year and fell in love, don’t judge me)…

Oh, I love that theme.

Another genre of music I like is musicals. Show tunes, Disney films, you name it.  And if it’s a musical in minor key, well…..

Finally, there’s one kind of music that never fails to amuse me. Chipmunk songs. Not just songs sped up to sound sorta like the Chipmunks, but songs where people managed to keep the same speed, but put in Chipmunk voices. Possibly my very favorite is this one.

 

Welp, that’s about all I have for now. Enjoy listening. And stay tuned for next Monday or Tuesday, when the adventures of Hadley V. Baxendale continue!

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. I also have This is Halloween on my playlists.

    • I have three versions of it: the original, the rock version by Marilyn Manson, and the version by Panic! at the Disco.

  2. Hey, if you like chipmunk music, you might have liked the CD I got as a white elephant gift for a work gift exchange: Jingle Cats. It is exactly what you think it is: cats meowing Christmas songs. It was amusing for the first few songs.

  3. That sounds like exactly the sort of CD I would like. 😀

  4. Dude, anyone who would judge you for Doctor Who doesn’t deserve a vote. Try googling Doctor Who theme song mashups- those crazy kids on tumblr have made some amazing/some hilarious versions

    • I’ll have to look into that. I should mention, next Monday a local theater is going to be showing two episodes of Doctor Who, on the big screen: the first Cybermen two-parter from Series 2. Envy me. 🙂

      • Haha I don’t have to envy you, because the IMAX next city over from me is showing it too and I bought my tickets two weeks ago 😄 I will, however, fan girl with you…

      • Oh, yes. Fangirling is very much appropriate. This will be the greatest night since I got to see John Williams perform live.

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

