Skip to content

Blog Tour!

by on August 30, 2014

First off, I must confess that I am very bad at these things. I was kindly invited to participate by Meg of Pigspittle, Ohio, who also writes for the Yeah Write grids. I’ve enjoyed her stories and nonfiction writings very much (for instance, this story she has going about a person with color-specific visions of the future is really brilliant).  The idea with these blog tours is that having been invited, you then are supposed to participate within a reasonable time. I, alas, am a procrastinator. I have also been working at a real grown-up job, and I’ve just come off an extremely stressful summer studying for and then taking the bar exam. I was finally preparing this post, when I realized that I had a prior invite to join a blog tour from Janna of jannatwrites. I first met her back in the Trifecta weekly challenge, where she told this wonderful and dramatic serial story involving Darlene and a thrilling murder mystery. Unfortunately, Janna’s invite came in June, right in the midst of bar study preparations, and, well….yeah. So, I apologize to both Meg and Janna for my delay in responding to the blog tour invites.  Meanwhile, to the tour itself.

The idea, it seems, is to answer several questions about your own writing, and then recommend some other bloggers whose work you enjoy.

  • Question 1: what am I working on?

Well, I just finished the Hadley’s Story serial, so my next pla n is to edit that and put it out in e-book form. I will then attempt to figure out the next entry in the universe of Hadley, Rain, and Constance. I’m thinking a treasure hunt. Maybe the Golden Zebu, hidden in the Temple of the Second to Last of the Fairly Average Whangdoodles? Hm. In any event, I am also preparing for NaNoWriMo 2014. I missed last year, but this year I’m going to try for a rousing adventure. I brain-stormed out the plot with a friend of mine. It’s going to involve Jason Waterfalls. As in, “Don’t go, Jason Waterfalls!”  😀

  • Question 2: how does my work differ from others in my genre?

That depends on what my genre is. Quirky sci-fi? Whatever genre the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy is in, that’s what I’m aiming for. I don’t do serious much (though occasionally I will go for the ol’ heartstrings), I like to do comedy. Randomness. Subverting cliches. You won’t find too many stories involving a guardian angel and a kaiju in the same sequence, I’ll bet. I also have a fondness for superhero fiction, though again my style leans more towards heroes like the Tick or Mystery Men rather than, say, the grittiness of the newest Superman movie.

  • Question 3: Why do I write/create what I do?

Because I can’t not do it, if you’ll forgive the double negative. I’ve got to write something; the stories unfurl in my head, and they want to be told. Also, this world is, especially lately, a dark and tumultuous place. I want people to have something to laugh about. One of my delights is when someone comments and informs me that they had a spit-take reading one of my lines, or that they literally laughed out loud. The world needs more spit-takes, if you ask me.

  • Question 4: How does my writing/creative process work?

I don’t have an organized process, exactly. A lot of times, I work off of prompts. Yeah Write, and Trifecta before that, and the Chrysalis Experiment before that. I’ll peg off a sentence or a phrase, and then think about where that story might go. Oftentimes the scene sort of spools out in my head, and then I write it out and edit it if necessary. I also very much like serials. Once I have a good character, I roll with them, as I like to see where their story leads to, and it’s easier working with established characters.  One way my process does not work is that I can’t write, not usually, after I’ve watched a movie or television show. (Mom Power was an exception; I wrote that after watching Muppet Treasure Island). If I’ve just binge-watched a season of M*A*S*H, and then I try to write a Catrina episode, I won’t be picturing Catrina in my head, I’ll be picturing Hawkeye or Margaret “Hot Lips” Houlihan. Catrina isn’t Margaret Houlihan. She could never have dated Frank “Ferret Face” Burns, for one thing. She would’ve whacked him over the head with the Shovel of Thor in about two seconds.

Anyway. The final part of this blog tour is to recommend several blogs you enjoy.  There’s quite a few good blogs out there, but two that I particularly like are Snottingblack (who lives in San Francisco, where apparently there are bison!) and Listful Thinking, who once wrote an insightful post about the romance of potatoes.  I appreciate people who look at the world sideways, so to speak. 🙂

That’s all for now. Tune in next time for more adventures, as Catrina and Susan start World War One, and then travel to the Library of Alexandria! (Spoiler: there’s a fire, for which my heroine may or may not be responsible).

 

 

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Glad to see you joined the tour! I don’t know what your genre is, either, but it’s fun to read 🙂

  2. Meg permalink

    I will purchase the first copy of your e-book! And I love the idea of a treasure hunt. Thanks for writing all this, Michael. I enjoyed reading about how you put what pops into your head onto the screen. Your stories make me very happy, indeed. Mission accomplished.

  3. Thanks! I will do a blog post when the e-book is ready, which shouldn’t be too long. Also, I think the treasure hunt will actually be for an Etruscan Snood, rather than the Golden Zebu. I just read a list of all of Robin’s exclamations from the Adam West Batman series, and one of them was “Holy priceless collection of Etruscan snoods!” I’m wondering what the context of that was…

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

