Skip to content

Tragic

by on January 12, 2015

“Anne, are you killed?

Alack, alack, what blood is this, which stains

the hard, yellow road-bed?”

She died — this was the way she died.

With a terrific, loud, animal sob, like that of a heart-stricken moose.

Though in life I used to hug her, now she’s dead I draw the line.

Alas, poor ghost!

No rest, no peace. Incessant torture of remorse!

And they got very cocky, and went about saying you were done for this time! You would never come back again, never, never!”

“Surely,” said I, “surely that is something at my window lattice;

It’s only imagination. Low spirits and nothing else.

“For God’s sake, don’t let it in!”

..

Someone’s in the kitchen with Dinah.”

I saw on the YeahWrite website that they were doing a poetry slam this month involving centos, which is where you take lines from other works to create a new story. This was fun, although it ended up in a creepier place than I expected. .

From → Uncategorized

20 Comments
  1. Well done….I love creepy!!

  2. Jennifer G. Knoblock permalink

    Fun and well done. Just finished reading Anne with my daughter, too. 🙂

  3. Fun- it’s nice to see you trying new things!

    • It was nice to try it, that’s for sure. I will have to do more with poetry. 😀

  4. I don’t think anyone’s strumming a banjo. Poor Dinah!

    • Or singing fee fi fiddly-i-oh, either.

      • I love how jarring that last line is in the new context.

      • It’s Ultron’s fault, really. Once the Avengers 2 trailer showed me how eerie and jarring cute Disney lines can be in different contexts, there was no going back. 🙂

  5. Meg permalink

    Spooky and wonderful, Michael! I especially liked the “terrific, loud, animal sob,” which made her death bigger and even more dramatic. So glad you joined the cento fun!

    • I’m glad I joined as well. I’ve been wanting to use that line ever since I read it in Moby Dick. 😀

  6. You’re great at this! I love how everyone’s personalities come through, even with the use of others’ lines. “Though in life I used to hug her, now she’s dead I draw the line” made me chortle. So glad you did this 🙂

    • I almost wanted to include the verse from Clementine about artificial respiration, but I couldn’t fit it in. 🙂

  7. Meg’s already mentioned my favorite part, so my second favorite part of Tragic is the way you incorporated lines from other authors but still stayed true to your satirical writing style. Or, at least, that’s how I read it (especially with the Dinah line). Great work, michael!

    • Thanks! It’s tricky, I see now, to pull in other’s lines but still maintain your own style, but definitely fun.

  8. Wow, this was really great. I loved the creep factor; it actually reminded me of that old song Last Kiss, so I read it sort of sing-songy which made it even eekier 😉

    • I haven’t heard Last Kiss, but I did definitely picture that last line being very sing-songy. “Someone’s in the kitchen, I know…”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. abandoned | Arden Ruth Writes
  2. War Poem in the Snow (Cento) | PIGSPITTLE OHIO

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

