Skip to content

In Which I Discuss a Serious Topic

by on February 27, 2015

I don’t usually discuss real-world events on this blog. This is partly for purely mercenary reasons. I want people to read and enjoy my stories. I also want people to buy them.  (Which you can do on Amazon! And if you order right now, I’ll throw in a free set of Ginsu steak-knives!)  I decided to go the self-publishing route, because, why not? It worked for Fifty Shades. On the other hand, that series was a unique circumstance (it caught the tail end of the Twilight boom, right when e-book readers were coming up, so lots of people could read it without letting other people know they were reading it). Also, I can’t write that material. If I tried to write that sort of thing, or even the standard stuff you’d find in romance novels, I honestly couldn’t do it and take it seriously. Moral objections aside (and I do have those), I’d probably be giggling all the way through, and it would sound horribly stilted. It would be like the Ember Island Players version of a romance novel. “OH I’M TEARBENDING!”

Anyway. Getting back to the point, I naturally want people to read my work, and once you get into serious discussions, you lose people reading it for the sheer joy of reading. Instead you either have people reading what you write in order to attack it (That person said a Horrible Thing! Shun the non-believer!), or people reading what you write uncritically and praising it to the skies (That person is on Our Team! They must be defended!). You get the idea. I mean, I do have political opinions, but I prefer to keep them to myself in online formats, and mostly discuss them offline with people who I know will still be my friends afterwards. It’s more difficult to maintain civility online. (He said, somewhat obviously).

However, there is now an issue about which I cannot keep silent. I must speak out.

The dress is white and gold.

There. What I have written, I have written.

From → Uncategorized

4 Comments
  1. The real secret is it is not even a dress.

  2. I wondered where you were going with this (with you on the romance thing… there’s no way I could pull that off if I wanted to, which I don’t!)

    It is quite obviously white and gold. Good thing we agree. I’d hate to have to unsubscribe over it 🙂

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

