Skip to content

The Last Word

by on March 9, 2015

Don’t.

It was

Her last word.

Natasha’s last.

Don’t.

 

Don’t?

Don’t what?

Don’t leave me?

He will never

know.

 

Don’t.

A blip.

Static flare.

Lost when her moon

died.

 

“Hey!”

Constance

interrupts.

“You idiot!

The ship’s exploding!

You’ve got to get out of

there!”

 

He

ignores

her. Who cares?

Forget the Orb.

It doesn’t matter.

So.

 

“Don’t

get in

my way.” “But-”

He ignores her.

She has her mission.

Stamper has his. That ship.

That ship left Natasha with

One word. One last static-flare word.

“Don’t-”

This is my attempt to write something in the style of a lanterne. A space otter lanterne, specifically.

16 Comments
  1. Kir Piccini permalink

    Oh. Those damn last words.
    I really liked this.

    • I’ve always been a fan of poignant last words, especially lately when rereading a history of the Civil War and General John Sedgwick’s famous line “They couldn’t hit an elephant at this distance.” Turned out they could, and did. …

  2. Jennifer G. Knoblock permalink

    And I’m always impressed with how you not only do the form/prompt, but keep furthering your story through it. I feel I should be taking notes…

    • I appreciate that. I like my characters so much I don’t want to leave them, so they keep turning up in various forms. 🙂

  3. Poignant! It changes from the usual chaos but in a good way ^^
    (ps. Black Widow? 😉 )

    • Sadly, Mr.Stamper’s Natasha is not Marvel Natasha; happily so as Black Widow is still alive and Mr. Stamper’s Natasha… isn’t. Alas.

      • I wondered if it might have been inspiration, but you never know right? Maybe it was just a proton teleportation beam that looked like it was disintegrating her but it was actually only transporting her and she is still alive in there.
        …I like happy endings, and excuses to express my overactive imagination (and fancy gadgets). It’s your story, you decide 🙂

      • Well, now that you mention it….maybe she IS alive. Or maybe she isn’t. She could be all the way dead…. or she could only be mostly dead. There’s only one way to know, really. 🙂

      • Mostly dead… yuck! Yup, go find a crystal ball and learn to use it :p

  4. Meg permalink

    Michael! I love your Mr. Stamper poems. And this is so sad but lovely.

  5. I’m glad these characters are so attached to you that they keep popping out in any and every form 🙂

    • I very much like Mr. Stamper; there’s a lot of bad Mr. Stampers out there (Tomorrow Never Dies, the British and American incarnations of House of Cards), that I wanted a good Mr. Stamper. I’m looking forward to whatever poetry slam April turns up. Maybe a snappy limerick! “There once was an otter called Stamper…”

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. yeah write #204 challenge winnersyeah write

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

