Skip to content

On Twitter and Fleek

by on July 17, 2015

My blog is predominantly short stories, especially short stories in serials; I realize this. Every so often, I try to write things that are not stories involving flammable flying-brick superheroines, or space otters, or magical tales inspired by the Count of Monte Cristo. On the other hand, I prefer not to blog about politics; though I am keenly interested, I prefer to have those discussions in a civilized manner in person, not randomly over the Internet. I would say I don’t blog about theological matters so much, but I’ve been writing Gaseous Girl as she’s going through Dante’s Inferno, so that’s not entirely true. I suppose it’d be more accurate to say that I don’t engage too much in doctrinal posts. I know what I believe, and I am trying to learn more about it; that works, for me, for now.. What you believe about those sorts of things is up to you. 🙂

Meanwhile. I am also on Twitter, and it is an interesting place. (My handle is Indiana_Michael. The underscore is important; I gather there may be another indianamichael out there, but that is not me.)  The main problem I’ve had so far is the 140-character limit; I’m used to Facebook posts where one has more room. But I’m getting used to it. Among other things, I learned that the CIA is on Twitter; as a consequence, I also learned that the famous chef Julia Child once worked for the CIA. I did not know that before. Now I know!

Also, there is a judge in Texas who is on Twitter and wrote an opinion about eyebrow-threading, cosmetology, and licenses. An article I read about the opinion made reference to the term “on fleek.”  I am not familiar with this term. Without googling, here are some speculations as to the meaning of the word “fleek”.

1) A new and catchy expletive used in a sci-fi show, like “fark” or “zark”.  As in, I’m givin’ her all she’s fleekin’ got, Cap’n! I cannae do anythin’ else!  (I don’t know if Scotty from Star Trek would’ve been on fleek.)

2) A street term for some sort of illicit substance.

3) A tiny blue and nose-less alien that lives on the planet Fleekerzork. He emigrates to Earth and appears on a Disney Channel show; he also has odd powers like the ability to move things with his mind, and turn anyone into a puddle of goo when he feels threatened. The other protagonist is an ironic would-be musical star named Melanie, who must hide Fleek’s existence from her curious boyfriend Tyler. Wacky hijinks ensue.

4) Something said by the Minions in Despicable Me, like “bee-do!” and “banana!”

5) Something the Dowager Countess on Downton Abbey would not approve of, and Rose MacClare would try to be rebellious. (I’ve only seen partway through series five. No spoilers, please. I think the dog will recover. I hope so. Downton has upset me too much already).

6) Fleek Baggins, the somewhat distant and wild descendant of Bilbo.

7) Fleek Targaryen, a character introduced in the next Game of Thrones book, a long-lost Targaryen relative and rightful heir of the Iron Throne, but who dies tragically before he can make it over to Danyland and swipe her dragons. Then everybody else dies tragically.

That’s all I have. Feel free to chime in with other suggestions!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

