Skip to content

On Returning from a Walk

by on October 12, 2015

Molly!

This is my family dog, Molly. She is, as she is frequently assured, a Good Dog.  At this moment in time, she has just returned from a lengthy walk. As best I can tell, she is pleased. She sniffed several leaves, assorted bushes, and spots on the parking lot, and used the bathroom. Now she is heading home, back to her people.

In some ways, I envy what Molly’s life is like. She plays with her squeaky toys, chases squirrels, barks at the garbageman, whom she suspects in an invasion on her territory. She has no idea of serious world events. She does not know that 95 people were killed in a bombing in Ankara, Turkey last Saturday, during a peace rally. She has no conception of evil, no idea of what human beings can do to each other. The worst thing that can happen in her world is that one of her people might go away. Otherwise, she is at peace.

She also doesn’t understand about politics. Molly has absolutely no interest whatever in who the next Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives might be. She doesn’t know the words synod, or intercontinental ballistic missile, or Nobel Prize in Literature. The words she does know are one-syllable words like walk, toy, and food. Her entertainment consists of a squeaky plastic dolphin, or a stuffed frog. I could talk to her all day about the Marvel Cinematic Universe, or my current rewatch of Frasier, but Molly would just wonder why I haven’t tossed a ball for her to catch yet.

I realize it’s a good thing, on the whole, that we humans are endowed with a broader conception of the world. We have to do adult things, care about our society. Those broader things do matter, and even might affect Molly’s world, though she doesn’t know it. Still, sometimes, I wish I could share in Molly’s bliss. She is, after all, a Very Good Dog.

From → Uncategorized

8 Comments
  1. I have had similar thoughts about my cats. How nice it would be to be ignorant of the goings on in the world and just bask in the comfort immediately surrounding us.

  2. michellelongo permalink

    Molly has a very sweet face. Having a dog’s life seems really ideal right abut now!

  3. Sweet little illustration of ‘ignorance is bliss’. To confess: I had to google synod. When dogs can google things, it will be the beginning of the end of their age of innocence.

  4. I often find myself similarly envious of my dogs’ lives.

  5. Maybe if I am good in this life I will return as a family dog.

  6. I love your Dog. And I love how you use him to bring even more sympathy to life’s hardships.

  7. Dogs live exclusively in the present, and that’s their charm. There’s far less judgement and much more of making the most of every moment. I envy that, and if I remember to think of it, I try to emulate it a little.

    But then I think of how they’re mostly content to do nothing a lot. And I realize that maybe I’m not quite zen enough to be a dog.

  8. Those dogs though…they have got it made! ♥

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

