Skip to content

NaNoWriMo, Day Six

by on November 6, 2015

I am slightly behind; my word count is 9,562, which is about 400-some words short of where I need to be. Tomorrow is Saturday, though, so I should be able to catch up. One hopes, anyway.  As of now, I split off another character from the main group, mainly because I got tired of having my characters do a sort of roll-call conversation every paragraph or so. As a result, Major Miska of the Badger Democratic Republic (picture Soviet Union, but with badgers), is now on a starship. Because kelpies.  (It makes sense in context).

Meanwhile…  here’s a fun fact. One of my two main characters is named Jason Waterfalls. I got this from a CNN article I read once on the subject of mondegreens.  The word “mondegreen” was created by Sylvia Wright in 1954. As a child, her mother used to read her a sad 17th century Scottish ballad, which she heard as follows:
“Ye Highlands and ye Lowlands,
Oh, where hae ye been?
They hae slain the Earl o’ Moray,
And Lady Mondegreen.”

She thought this was very tragic, the poor bonny Earl dying with his love and all. When she grew up, however, she learned what the actual last line was.


“They hae slain the Earl o’ Moray,
And laid him on the green.”

Thus, mondegreens were born. For example, when I watched The Princess Diaries as a younger person, I could’ve sworn that in the beach party scene, Lana and her cohorts were singing the words “Scooby cubie, you’re a roomy guy.”  I discovered later that what Lana was actually singing was “Stupid Cupid, you’re a real mean guy.” Which makes more sense. Anyway, there’s a certain song out there, in which the chorus is “Don’t go chasing waterfalls.”  Apparently, some people have heard it as saying, “Don’t go, Jason Waterfalls.”  And so my character was born. Now you know! 🙂

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. I can’t believe you are doing WriMo and NoMo. I’m overwhelmed enough with just NoMo!

    • I think WriMo and NoMo reinforce each other in a way; my WriMo word count gives me subject material for NoMo. So that’s helpful…. I don’t know if I could do substantive posts for NoMo without the aid of WriMo, though.

  2. That was an interesting background on your character’s name. There are so many things where I’ve heard things differently, only to realize it years later. You’re doing awesome in the challenge – keep it up 🙂

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

