Skip to content

NaNoWriMo: Day Nine

by on November 9, 2015

Word count: 13,058.

I have now entered a bit of a slowdown. I only wrote half of what I should’ve written today. This happens, sometimes. I hear it’s a tradition around Week Two of NaNoWriMo. I did, however, introduce yet another new character: Count Evelyn Ferdinand Roderigo of Zara. He is a vampire. I already threw in a zombie back in chapter one: I figured I might as well throw in a vampire. All I have to do is throw in a wizard with a lightning scar, an archer named after a flower who’s trying to survive a dystopia and the Antichrist, and I’ll have covered all the pop culture bases, from young adult to Christian fiction to paranormal. Hooray!

In the meantime, I thought I might reflect for a moment on how I got here. I didn’t always use to write comedic fantasy, or whatever one calls this genre of space otters, wacky treasure-hunting angels, and superheroes like the Wombat and Gaseous Girl. Originally I wrote very serious stuff. My first NaNo novel was a rewriting of the story of Samson and Delilah as a superhero story, with tanks and heat-rays and all. Before that, I had written a novel involving battles and sieges and even a duel or two. Like Lord of the Rings, but with less wizardry. Then, one day in college, back in 2009 or so, I had the idea to create a superheroine who derived her powers from a radioactive cheesestick. She was called Gaseous Girl. She was very meta. I wrote a series of stories about her on a blogging platform called Xanga; I don’t know if Xanga is still around, but I think it died. Either that or it went behind a paywall, which amounts to the same thing.

I couldn’t stop writing, though. Then, around 2010, I discovered WordPress. January 11th, 2011 I wrote a story about a princess named Caitlin who was good with swords.  I enjoyed her character so much I brought her back. Then in a later story she died, tragically. I cried. But then I began to wonder: what really happens to a made-up character when they die? Is there a Character Heaven? Is there a Character Hell?

Things were never the same after that. Caitlin went meta and changed her name to Catrina, Gaseous Girl made a triumphant return to WordPress, and I never looked back. I really do enjoy writing comedy. When someone comments that they had a literal spit-take after reading a line from a story, or that they actually laughed aloud, it makes my whole day. The world has enough serious writing, I think. We need more fun. And so, that leads me to this year’s NaNo, which is sort of serious (the premise is one character trying to liberate another character from hell), but funny too (the liberating character is named Jason Waterfalls).  So, there you go. 🙂

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

Lisa Jakub

Writing about what happens when we stop acting

