Skip to content

NaNoWriMo, Day 20

by on November 20, 2015

Darlene the Invincible is, somewhat reluctantly, leading an attack by her newly acquired followers on a castle. My word count is over the 22,000 mark now. Only 38,000 to go, right? Right. 🙂

Meanwhile, today I had lunch at Wendy’s, and rejoiced to see that they brought back the round Sweet and Sour sauce containers; I very much preferred them to the square ones they have had of late. I often eat lunch while reading a book, if I can. I recently read an NPR article on the stigma attached to eating alone, and saw a Frasier episode that dealt with the same problem. I’ve never quite understood that. I have never felt that stigma, because whenever I have had occasion to eat lunch on my own, I usually have a book. There: problem solved.

So, today I was happily reading my book (Eamon Duffy’s Saints and Sinners: A History of the Popes, 4th edition, in case you were wondering), when I became aware of a group of individuals next to me. One individual was clearly a leader in that social group, and was also the loudest. This person said a number of potentially tweetable things. I finally got on Twitter this year. I could very easily have tweeted out what this person said. It might have gone viral. Ridiculously viral, even. I could’ve been a star!

But then, I didn’t.

I left the group to their own affairs, finished the chapter on the Reformation (I had not known about the Sack of Rome in 1527 before. Yipes), and left the Wendy’s to proceed about my day.

I didn’t go viral. Neither did they.  The world kept on spinning somehow.

 

 

 

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Jennifer G. Knoblock permalink

    Hi, Rowmie-of-the-moment. I’m cheering you on for NaNoWriMo! And lunch is always better with a book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

