Skip to content

Missing

by on April 5, 2016

On the really cold days, I can’t feel my feet.

I can’t feel them on the warm days either,

Not the feet, not the eyes, not the elbows.

They’re for the monster, he says.

A new creation, he says.

And I lost the brain. Of course.

 

I am an Igor, and this is my job.

 

I got the right brain, no question.

Not an abnormal one, no sir – I’m not a moron.

Igor U, summa cum laude, class of ’92.

My diploma hangs on the castle dungeon wall.

Anyway, it’s a brilliant scientist’s brain.

Dude discovered some element or something.

But somewhere between the mob attack and the thunderstorm,

I lost the brain, and the doc will kill me.

 

I am an Igor, and this is my job.

 

What do I do?

Steal another scientist’s brain? No.

Takes hella time to swipe a brain.

Maybe I should just ask the doc.Β  Nice guy, the doc is.

It’s not like he would swipe my summa cum laude brain instead, right?

Right?

 

I am an Igor, and this is my job.

 

The poetry slam at Yeah Write for this month is the bop, aΒ  form I had not heard of before. I don’t imagine there are many bops about the travails of a mad scientist’s assistant. But I couldn’t resist trying one.

 

From → Uncategorized

13 Comments
  1. And I’m sooo glad you did! That was such a great and hilarious bop! πŸ˜„

    • Thanks! I admit, I got a bit of inspiration from Mel Brooks “Young Frankenstein”, with a small contribution from Taylor Swift, from whom I heard the phrase ‘hella good hair” and realized that that you can use “hella” as a modifying adjective. πŸ™‚

  2. haha! This was such a fun read. I have no idea what a “bop” is, but I loved this.

    • I didn’t know what a bop was either until I read it for this month’s poetry slam. Modern poetry: who knew, right?

  3. I love the way you take a form and embrace it as your own, maintaining your unique voice.

    • Thanks! I am glad my voice came out in this; it’s a new form for me, and I gather normally it’s about more serious subjects. I may do serious subjects someday, but Igorbops are more fun. πŸ™‚

  4. Who knew Igor had poetic sensibilities? Well..actually, you did.

  5. rubybastille permalink

    Fun! The first few lines had me thinking this would be all deep and stuff, but I like the comedic angle better!

  6. The voice here is so playful! And Frankenstein is one of my favorite books, so I extra enjoyed this. πŸ™‚

    • I haven’t read the book in a while, but I’ve got an audiobook version of it narrated by Dan Stevens in my Audible library. πŸ™‚

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Shelter | Hypothetically Writing

Leave a Reply

Laissez Faire

Letting Life Lead

Delight Through Logical Misery

Taking the sayings,thoughts and themes that make us happy and ruining them with science and logic and then ...um...happiness might come from that. Or at least some sort of smugness that's very similiar.

I Miss You When I Blink

and other classics

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

That Darn Kat

curiouser and curiouser

It's Not About A Church

It's about following Jesus ...

Erin McCole Cupp

Faith, Fiction, and Love No Matter What

that cynking feeling

You know the one I'm talking about . . .

The Cordial Catholic

Cordially explaining the Catholic faith.

The History of Love

The Trials & Tribulations of English Romance, 1660–1837

polysyllabic profundities

Random thoughts with sporadically profound meaning

Stewartry

Book reviews and general nonsense

Peg-o-Leg's Ramblings

You say you want an evolution...

Ned's Blog

Humor at the Speed of Life

